Strawberry Candies

Way back when my boys were young… and we were living in our first home… I made these candies… I have no idea where I got the recipe… Could have been a magazine… a cookbook… the side of the coconut bag OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA… the side of the strawberry jello boxOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA …I really can not remember… I do know it wasn’t on the internet… because there was no internet…although I did find the recipe I used tonight on COOKS.COM Recipe Search…

There it was… just as I remembered… same ingredients and instructions…

I made many a batch that Christmask7667619 … My Dad even had me making them… for him to give as little gifts at his work…

They are kind of pretty with their sugary redness… and bright green stems…

I’m going to use them as accents to my cookie trays I’m making…

The ingredients are simple… and you just free-form the shape into a strawberry with your hands/fingers… and then add a green frosting stem… Some recipes call for an almond dyed green to be used for a stem…but, I always liked the piped on leaves… Just my preference…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe as follows:

Candied Strawberries

1- cup flake coconut

1- pkg. ( 3 oz. Strawberry Jello ) It called for 2 packages… but, one is sufficient!… Use DRY!

I used the other package to roll the candies in as I shaped them…

3/4 cup sweetened condensed mild

1 small package ( 2 oz. ) of almond slivers ( 1 cup ) … I ground them into small pieces… 

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

The recipe also called for candied red sugar… this is where I used the other package of jello…

Mix all of the ingredients together… Chill for at least one hour… Shape into strawberry shapes… rolling in extra dry jello… Add frosting leaves on top… and then put in freezer until time to serve… Makes 30…

SO pretty… SO tasty!

I lay them on parchment paper or waxed paper… covering a cookie sheet

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I roll them in the dry strawberry jello…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I make 3 small leaves…

Hope you try them… They are quite easy… and so pretty!

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Candies

Leave a Reply

