Daddy’s Poem

E-mail I would like to share…
Daddy’s Poem”

Her hair was up in a pony tail,

Her favorite
dress tied with a bow.

Today was Daddy’s Day at school,

And she
couldn’t wait to go.

x21384007

But her mommy tried to tell her,

That
she probably should stay home;

Why the kids might not
understand,

If she went to school alone.

k1533287

But she was not
afraid;

She knew just what to say.

What to tell her
classmates

Of why he wasn’t there today.

k8319079

But still her mother
worried,

For her to face this day alone.

And that was why, once
again,

She tried to keep her daughter home.

x12504999

But the little girl went to school ,

Eager to tell them all.

About a dad she
never sees, a dad

Who never calls.

PAA201000007

There were daddies along the
wall in

Back, for everyone to meet.

Children squirming
impatiently,

Anxious in their seat.

k10462014

One by one the teacher
called

On a student from the class.

To introduce their
daddy,

As seconds slowly passed.

k6926638

At last the teacher
called her name,

Every child turned to stare.

Each of them was
searching,

A man who wasn’t there.

pr79798

“Where’s her daddy
at?”

She heard a boy call out.

“She probably doesn’t have
one,”

Another student dared to shout.

k1535553

And from somewhere near the
back,

She heard a daddy say,

“Looks like another deadbeat
dad,

Too busy to waste his day.”

15591-31dg

The words did not offend
her,

As she smiled up at her Mom.

And looked back at her teacher,
who

Told her to go on..

k10952553

And with hands behind her
back,

Slowly she began to speak.

And out from the mouth of a
child,

Came words incredibly unique.

bon0795

“My Daddy couldn’t be
here,

Because he lives so far away.

But I know he wishes he could
be,

Since this is such a special day.

005C0404LL

And though you
cannot meet him,

I wanted you to know

All about my
daddy,

And how much he loves me so.

BMYF000001

He loved to tell me
stories,

He taught me to ride my bike;

He surprised me with pink
roses,

And taught me to fly a kite.

k1402897

We used to share fudge
sundaes,

And ice cream in a cone.

And though you cannot see
him.

I’m not standing here alone.

k1024539

‘Cause my daddy’s always
with me,

Even though we are apart;

I know because he told
me,

He’ll forever be in my heart”

u11735280

With that, her little
hand reached up,

And lay across her chest.

Feeling her own
heartbeat,

Beneath her favorite dress.

k4984586

And from somewhere
there in the crowd of dads,

Her mother stood in tears.

Proudly
watching her daughter,

Who was wise beyond her years.

k3785158

For she
stood up for the love

Of a man not in her life.

Doing what was
best for her,

Doing what was a right.

k0041285

And when she dropped her
hand back

Down, staring straight into the crowd.

She finished with
a voice so soft,

But its message clear and loud.

k2195880

“I love
my daddy very much,

he’s my shining star.

And if he could, he’d be
here,

But heaven’s just too far.

k0914203

You see he is an American
Soldier

And he died just this past year, ,

When a roadside bomb
hit his convoy

And taught Americans to fear.

k9709065

But sometimes
when I close my eyes,

it’s like he never went away.”

And then she
closed her eyes,

And saw him there that day.

IS186-080

And to her
mother’s amazement,

She witnessed with surprise,

A room full of
daddies and children,

All starting to close their
eyes.

674693

Who knows what they saw before them;

Who knows what
they felt inside.

Perhaps for merely a second,

They saw him at her
side.

k8890379

“I know you’re with me Daddy,”

to the silence she
called out.

And what happened next made believers,

of those once
filled with doubt.

k10118629

Not one in that room could explain
it,

for each of their eyes had been closed.

But there on the desk
beside her,

was a fragrant long-stemmed pink rose.

k0172070

And a
child was blessed, if only for

a moment, by the love of her shining
star.

And given the gift of believing,

that heaven is never too
far.

k10750232

3 thoughts on “Daddy’s Poem

  1. Thank you MKG for the Pingback, I appreciate your kindness, I also enjoyed your message I like to share other peoples stories that I have received over the years too, although I do use my own material at times. Looking forward to sharing with you more in the future.

    Christmas Love and Blessings – Anne

Leave a Reply

