Postal Gifts…

Christmas k10774444seems to actually arrive when I get my first Christmas card k10234922 … One from my friend Dorothy…  is the first I receive usually… followed not too far behind by my cousin, Vera… and then they slowly arrive… one or two at a time… almost every day…

I so look forward to going to the mailbox and seeing if there are any cards along with all of the advertisements…

k4699974

I really thought I might not receive any this year… with the economy being so bad… People having to cut corners wherever possible…

I look at giving Christmas cards as a small gift to the person I send it to… It might be all of the communication we have during the Holiday Season… Some living far away… and others unable to get together…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A First Class stamp cost 45 cents… not so much for a gift if you look at it like that…

And if you can find Post Cards with a Christmas theme they will only cost 32 cents…

There’s just something special when you open that envelope… with your name addressed on it… and a sneak preview of who it is from if there is a return address

Some of the designs of the Holiday Stamps are quite pretty… and refer to different faithsSome even collect them…     untitledPhilatelic Product ImagePhilatelic Product Image

Philatelic Product ImagePhilatelic Product Image

The cards themselves are works of art… which I truly appreciate… The colors… the theme… the sparkles…  Just beautiful!… 

There have been surveys… and all have said that people prefer getting a real stamped and mailed Christmas card over an emailed one… Does that not say something??? 

My brother made my Mom a handcrafted wood box depicting The Little Drummer Boy“… It was for her to put her Christmas cards in… He self-taught himself to paint and do wood working… Very impressive I think…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Both my Mom and Brother have passed away… but, “The Little Drummer Boy” brings them closer to me at this time of year… as I set it out in my house and place the little gifts of cards I receive from friends and relatives

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View  a unique version of “The Little Drummer Boy”!

http://www.youtube.com/embed/IrNcD34KFhM

2 thoughts on “Postal Gifts…

Leave a Reply

