Daily Prompt: Musical/Daily Post

k3743904k3743904k3743904

Memory…

Music to me makes me relax but, when put in a play at my Granddaughter‘s school… It becomes “ARRR!”… That’s pirate talk  k2070806 for let’s sing… let’s dress up… let’s have fun!… k3405158

The kids work really hard to put on these cute skits/plays/musicals

Learning songs… memorizing partsk3523752

… and choosing costumes /make-up to accent their awesomeness!k2070809

The teacher who directs this and works with these kids must have lots of patience… not expecting perfection… they are Elementary kids… k3471585but, so thrilled when the audience of parents, grandparents, friends and co-workers stand to give a loud applause and “way to go’s”…

k10169064k9299744

Of course being the Grandparent… my eyes are only on her… my granddaughter, Kennedy… for most of the play…

121108_003            121108_010

but, you can’t help eyeballing her friends… the props they made… and the neat ideas for costumes

121108_001 121108_005

Mom and Dad sitting on bleachers with big smiles… and backing her all of the way…

121108_007

what lessons can be learned in this musical environment

121108_006

maybe a few musicians… actors… script writers… teachers will emerge with memories of  “The Pirate’s!…

121108_004        121108_002

A Children’s Pirate Shanty by Mark “Cap’n Slappy” Summers (can be sung to the tune of Monty Python’s “I’m a Lumberjack and I’m OK” – or make up your own!

http://youtu.be/KAexZ3M-b-s

Chorus I’m a pirate! That I be! I sail me ship upon the sea! I stay up late – till half past three! And that’s a peg below me knee!

Yo Ho, my friends I have a tale of treasure, plunder, sea and sail my story’s bigger than a whale it gets so deep, ye’ll have to bail.

Chorus I’m a pirate! That I be! I sail me ship upon the sea! I stay up late – till half past three! And that’s a peg below me knee!

I like to fish, I like to fight I like to stay up half the night When I say “starboard” ye go right! Me ma, she says, “Ye look a fright!”

Chorus I’m a pirate! That I be! I sail me ship upon the sea! I stay up late – till half past three! And that’s a peg below me knee!

I’ve got no hand but that’s me hook! I pillage stuff but I’m no crook. Me booty’s in this chest I took. They’ll write about me in a book!

Chorus I’m a pirate! That I be! I sail me ship upon the sea! I stay up late – till half past three! And that’s a peg below me knee!

And that’s all there is to this song. I hope it hasn’t been too long. A pirate’s life might just be wrong So grow up nice and big and strong!

Chorus I’m a pirate! That I be! I sail me ship upon the sea! I stay up late – till half past three! And that’s a peg below me knee!

**************************

“Pirate Talk”…

“Drivelswigger” – One who reads about nautical terms too much.

I always investigate things I’m writing about… so this could be me!

“Picaroon” – From the Spanish word for rascal, it was applied to a form of verse about pirates that was satirical or humorous.

As you know… anything concerning kids… would have humor in it…

“Cackle Fruit” – Chicken eggs…

I just had to mention this term… because my brother-in-law from Georgia used to call eggs …”cackle berries”

“Avast” – “Avast Ye!”  – From the Dutch term for ‘hold fast’ and means “Stop and pay attention.”

How many times do you think the teacher said this to this “crew”…

I told you I investigate too much on the subjects I write…

Bare with me and read this joke…ha-ha-ha-ha!…it’s that funny!

A pirate k2289460walked into a bar and the bartender said, ‘Hey, I haven’t seen you in a while. What happened? You look terrible.’

‘What do you mean?’ said the pirate, ‘I feel fine.’

Bartender, ‘What about the wooden leg? You didn’t have that before.’

Pirate, ‘Well, we were in a battle and I got hit with a cannon ball, but I’m fine now.’

Bartender, ‘Well, OK, but what about that hook? What happened to your hand?’

Pirate, ‘We were in another battle. I boarded a ship and got into a sword fight. My hand was cut off. I got fitted with a hook. I’m fine, really.’

‘ Bartender ‘What about that eye patch?’

Pirate, ‘Oh, one day we were at sea and a flock of birds flew over. I looked up and one of them pooped in my eye.’k2070810

‘You’re kidding,’ said the bartender, ‘you lost an eye just from bird poop.’

Pirate, ‘Well it was my first day with the hook.’

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Musical/Daily Post

Leave a Reply

