It’s A Go!

I saw this idea on… Pillows A-La-Mode… It had been done by her daughter-in-law

I just loved it!…

and immediately knew I would be making one for my daughter-in-law

You see… my son and her have bought a new home… and I thought it would make a great house warming gift plus birthday presentu15530543

They moved in today and her Birthday is Sunday…

I looked for a star to make it with and was about to order one off of the internet when this metal one was found marked down at a dollar store… It was quite nice… the size I wanted… 14″ X 14″… also had a Welcome Sign ( 10″ long) at the bottom… hung with small chains…

130203_003

This was going to work perfectly!

130202_001

No matter what color or design on it… because it would be covered with lots of photos

I went through all of my photos deciding on which ones would be good for this project…

I included of course the 3 kids… “Mom and Dad”… Uncle Doug… my daughter-in-law’s parents… Wickett, their puppy and both my husband and I…

This is who our “Little Family” consist of…

I printed out the photos on white paper…

It was to be a collage of photos of our family decoupaged with Mod Podge… a type of craft glue that adheres so well and also coats and makes the surface glisten…

130202_005.1

After cutting and taping the 100+ photos to the star on all points… I glued them and coated them with the glue… Yes, it took a little time… but, oh so worth it!…

130202_003

One point of the star designated for each Grandchild of mine… and the rest scattered photos of the rest of us…

130203_006

This glue is some marvelous stuff… I hadn’t tried this technique for many years… but, my heads a spinnin‘ about other things to cover…

I love it!… and usually I’m my own worst critic

130203_010

Even, my other son and husband gave me kudos for this project… and if they give their approval… I usually say, “It’s a go!”

3 thoughts on “It’s A Go!

Leave a Reply

