Moon Pie and RC Cola

Went out with my two good friends who I worked with at school for lunch…

We ate at Cheddar’s75px-Cheddars … I love their grilled shrimp/ rice/ broccoli with bourbon sauce 00910746 …and since they insist you get another sde…I ordered slaw

All was delicious!… I ate everuy bite!

Cheryl loves fish… but, especially crab legs… She can put them away!…

The catfish sandwich special caught her eye… with fries… extra crispy k5980829 …

Linda decided on tortilla soup… and Edamame ( fresh green soybeans) k9661790appetizer… you dipped them in a sauce and seasoning…

No dessert… We were too full!…

We talked and talked… They with two young granddaughters… 8 months and 14 months old… and me with older grandkids… My youngest being 8 years old and a boy… and then an almost 11-year-old old granddaughter and an 18-year-old granddaughter…

We hadn’t been together for awhile so there was lots to talk about!

After eating we all went our separate ways

I ended up at Wal-Mart 75px-Walmart_exteriorcropped … Shopping for my Grandson‘s birthday which was Feb. 13th… but, having a roller skating party next week…

I picked up a few snacks… while I was there… Some Valentine Soft Cookies were on sale… and I have fallen for Vanilla Moon Pies

183728_10151003944471566_482354231_a

All they had was the double decker“Break my heart!”… so I picked them up along with  some drinks  2921349398_59d19ca093_s …

I got home and found my son and Grandson visiting…

I had to sneak the packages in… where Carson wouldn’t see his birthday gifts…

Of course the snacks were attacked… well, the Valentine Cookies… and then that called for a drink… I’m glad I picked them up…

After they left I went to sit down… and decided to have my special snack of a Moon Pie

 moon-pie-half and an RC Cola Rccolauslogo …

Haven’t you heard that is how they were eaten when they first come out… It was in Chattanooga Tennessee 1917 when the first Moon Pie was made… and RC Cola came out in 1934… The combination happened in 1950’s and sold as a special for 10 cents

It was probably by accident… that this combo lunch was such a hit…

Actually I drank mine with a diet cola drink… but, the taste is the same…

As I opened up the box of Vanilla Moon Pies… my favorite…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

although they come in chocolate, banana and sometimes coconut… Even chocolate /peanut butter…

I picked out a package and it felt a little funny… maybe heavier…

And what to my surprise!… I had a package with a double-decker pie and a half Moon Pie cut right in the middle..

.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I looked and then looked again…

and then it registered …

The machine who cuts off the packages must have gotten two packages somehow… and cut one in half as it was being wrapped… It was sealed tight and fresh as it could be…

I had to laugh!…

I wasn’t disappointed by no means…

I now had one and one-half of my favorite snacks and no!…  I didn’t share!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, I’m wondering if any more in the box are this way???

If so… I’ll let you know!

Bell Buckle TN… has a Moon Pie – RC Cola Festival

Here are a few photos…

253671_218912201472824_3250504_n

260454_218473998183311_6642529_n 261269_218474528183258_596043_n

263555_218898894807488_518730_n

Oh…by the way… I felt all of the packages and no more surprisesOh, well …

One thought on “Moon Pie and RC Cola

  1. Hey, this makes me think of my uncle, who often talked of RC Colas! And yes, I know the classic Moon Pie. Love those, haven’t had one in years! I’ve never tried the vanilla version…I’ll have to check that out. I’m not sure if they’re available in Alaska…some things my mom can get in Mississippi that I can’t find here. But I’ll be visiting her in April, so if not before, I’ll try one then! ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

