Daily Prompt: All Grown Up / The Daily Post

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

A grown up…

Finishing High School???… u16964125 NO, I was still making some pretty bad decisions at that time…

Turning 21???…  u15076242 No, I was still not feeling like it!

Getting that first job???… k5376716 Maybe a little… Had my own paycheck… Opened up an account in my name… maybe a taste…

Maybe getting married???… k8660880 A little… but, at that time my new husband left for Viet Nam 1 month afterwards… I still lived at home…Not feeling very grown up…

Husband home???…  k9388336  k10005022later suffering from PTSD… Starting new life with another human being… knowing it was for life as far as I was concerned… Yes, getting there…

Having first apartment???…  pbu0707 Paying bills… buying groceries… keeping a car running… working… budgeting… Maybe a little more grown up feeling…

Buying first home???… k8503864 More responsibilty…managing techniques starting to kick in…Grown-up?… maybe a little more…

Having children???… k5915275 k11076809 Had no clue what all that involved… Changed me the most …Grown-up??? not all of the way… More like a child learning to raise a child… and the responsibility was overwhelming at times…

Oh, another child???…  KID04020 Loved them to pieces…but, grown-up… says maturity to me… and I was still learning… Instead of parenting… I played with my kids… Good or bad?… maybe OK… but, still didn’t feel like a grown-up… That was my parents role…u14194231 Still…not mine!… More words than anything…

Finally I felt grown-up!…

Son diagnosed with bi-polar disorder

k11482996

My life was to change forever and I had better start growing up!…

Doctors…Therapists…Advice…Heartache…Yes…I was growing up…

My Mom at 90 years old moves in with us…k5256516 and with a son with his mood swings… I had no idea what was going to happen…

More growing up… No choice!

Actually during this time I matured the most… Left to make decisions… for both an aging Mother and a son who suffered with his illness…

Evidently the combination became a God-send…

k6605372

My son became a partial care-giver to my Mom as I had to work… Given responsibility… he matured and started to grow up too…

After 5 years… Mom moves into nursing home… Boy… had I grown up…

Three more years of every other night… going to nursing home to put Mom to bed and visit after working all day… plus other times of course… Yes, I had grown up…

bfa0023

I think the real awakening moment that I was grown-up… was when I finally started taking up for myself and came into my own

sca0392k13082365

I became ME… a grown up who could make decisions… say YES or No when I needed to… and became a mentor of sorts… I felt I was worthy… loved and understood… I began to really like the person I had become…

I was grown up!

Leave a Reply

