Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories

What was your favorite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

I don’t know if I ever had the book…maybe aGolden Book as they call them…

header

My Mother would tell me stories all of the time… She amazed me with her memory… and she never seemed to tire of telling me stories… at bedtime… at nap time… when I didn’t feel well… just for fun!…

I listened with great attention to every word

One of my favorites was Peter Rabbit

9780307030719

… I later found that the author was Beatrix Potter… and that she was also a wonderful artist

beatrix_potter_photo_article_detail               Beatrix_Potter1943_article_detail

Beatrix Potter when she was young … learning to write and illustrate… and when she was older…

Castle_Cottage_article_detail

Castle Cottage… where she lived with her husband…

Benjamin_Bunny_character_portraitMrs_Tittlemouse_character_portraitSamuel_Whiskers_character_portrait

Other characters illustrated by Beatrix Potter…

My Mom in telling her stories was very demonstrative… Meaning… that I could just picture the characters and places vividly with her voice and descriptions… She seemed to illustrate with her voice…

Peter_Rabbit_character_portraitPeter Rabbit…

Peter Rabbit was a little naughty… getting into Mr. McGregor’s garden… munching on his fresh carrots and lettuce… Wearing his little blue coat that his hard-working Mother had made him…

I liked that his Mother disciplined him, but also showed her love for him…

Maybe his Mother reminded me of mine… and yes… in its small way… influenced me…

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories

  1. I love Beatrix Potter!! Gotta love all those Peter Rabbit tales, like Miss Moppet and the story about the doll house and the mice! Love that one! And the illustrations are just gorgeous!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad you found me, checking out yours and I love to see more artsy stuff!

  2. I loved the Peter Rabbit stories too and have bought them for the Grandchildren but suddenly your post reminded me of an all-time favourite, Horton the Elephant. I think it’s a Dr Seuss book and I must get it for our Grand-babies too, asap before they come for Easter.
    Thank you for stirring that memory! :)

Leave a Reply

