Daily Prompt: Imperfection

Imperfections — in things, in people, in places — add character to life.
Tell us about an imperfection that you cherish.

Oh, have I gained character!…

and I do cherish an imperfectionk7559064

It happens to be with my sonk10750560

Not a happy thought k0318227… when I gaze back on all of the trials we went through…

searching for answers…

wondering…

crying… ruf0007

sharing…

rejection… k11792414

unconcern…

hoping…

guilt…

sadness…yun0007

bewilderment… cof0977

anger… u14927808

unknowing…

The imperfection… which I will call it here… is Bi-polar Disorder

It causes severe mood swings… described as a roller coaster condition… with many hills…

k8025188

lows and highs… of many emotionsk5009629

and it seemed to be directed mainly at me and his Dad…

sga0001

Of course we wanted this to be a mistake

teen years…

adolescence…tn_group5_c

something we could put a finger on and change…

But, No!… no chance of that…

Actually… the thoughts I had were not pretty…k0318227

the thoughts he had were not prettyk0316821

But…

Thank goodness for the “but”

Things began to change after about 10 years… Yes… gradual changes

due to persistencek10790522

diagnosis…

medications…”off” medications…vmo0033

contract…

counseling…

hospitalizations…k0645006

more hospitalizations…

My husband and I seemed to be on a roller coaster ourselves…k13039155

the valleys so deep at times…

the hills giving us hope

and the mountain which we have seemed to climbjust in view

We will never go over the mountain…

being that there is no curek0054300

just a constant awareness

I will cherishnot the disease… but, the successes

and my son for coming so far …

right meds…

counseling…

acknowledgement by him that he has such an ailment…

people’s acceptance…

better knowledge and information to be shared…

communication…

I now CHERISH … who I call one of my best friendsk12991795

My son…k1573402

We have learned to deal…

and find our way…k9868885

we have learned

tolerance…

restrictions…

understanding…and

acceptance most of all…cfr0054

Yes, I cherish… this imperfection… for all that it has taught us

how it made us grow closer to Godk5440798

and I know… we are not alone in this struggle

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Imperfection

  1. You are one of the strongest people I know and “our” boy is absolutely a blessing to our family. Yes, he’s come a long way but he has love, compassion, empathy and intelligence. Love you both with all my heart.

  2. What a journey you’ve had! And how strong you must be to have weathered all of this! I hadn’t read this when I posted my piece today about my son. Funny that we had almost the opposite experience…you had so much distress because of your son’s situation. I feel distressed because I didn’t know what was going on with my son at the time. Thank God they have both come through! Although from what you describe your trial were much greater than anything we/Alex experienced…I’m so happy to hear that things are better and you have seen progress! You are surely a wonderful mom! ~ Sheila

    • Oh, we’ve come a long way…and I’ll take today…We are friends…learning through so much heartache…I can depend on him for most anything now…Acceptance was the key factor…on both sides…Best to you Sheila…thanks for comments…

Leave a Reply

