#FWF Free Write Friday: Image Prompt

birds

free-write-friday-kellie-elmore

http://kellieelmore.com

Photo  and Post inspired by Kellie Elmore…

……………………………………………………………..

The birds were just sitting there… So many of them had been caught…

Not for any reason… just for the hunt…

They cawed as Crows do…

The sound was deafening…

I tried to shut it out…

but, to no avail…

I had been in this cell for so long…

Actually the birds gave me some pleasure…

Their beauty… their sounds… their black wings flapping…

So desperately wanting to be free..

I was unable to feel anything as of late…

My soul had lost its will to live…

But, with their screeches echoing in my head…

I felt that tinge of what I used to call freedom…

I lean my head back and close my eyes…

I visually picture me outside this prison of bars…

I picture me entangled with them… these large black feathered creatures…

Strings attached to my hands…

Take me with you please…

I could feel myself being lifted above the ground…

Light as a feather… their strength… overcoming my weight…

and in some way I could almost feel freedom again…

and my soul sparked alive…

by: Marilyn Griffin

10 thoughts on “#FWF Free Write Friday: Image Prompt

  1. Thanks for the ping back – Your line ‘I felt that tinge of what I used to call freedom…’ is very poignant. I am sure that many “adults” will relate. There comes a time in life when duty calls longer louder and more than ever before. Thankfully, there next comes a time when everyone gets to fly… before they die.
    Best to you and your soul – namaste

  2. Thanks for the pingback. This is such a powerful poem. Such dark images that unite with this photo. It really took us into the mind of the prisoner. A creative take on the prompt.

  3. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday: Word Bank | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  4. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday: Time & Place Scenario | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  5. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday: Image Prompt | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

