DPchallenge: Through the Door

Weekly Writing Challenge: Through the Door

My Dad had built our home… one nail at a time…

HS01X005cof0247( This actually reminds me of our home)

on eight acres of land he had saved for and bought after getting out of the Navy

It was out in the county… some would say “country”…

A narrow road with few homes… spread far apart…

u16076527

The land had a creekwoods and a field of shrubs… tall grasses… and wildflowers…

He used every moment he had after a full day working as a wallpaper hangerWallpa_C

…  to make his dream come true k1304229

… Making this a home that we… his little family would grow to love and be a welcoming place for all who visited…

There were two homes actually… The first… had a small front door Hous_27 for a small little green house… living there until the larger home could be finished…

Both were memorable…

The small door opened into a warm… comfy place… made that way by my Mom and Dad…

You could see the wood/coal-burning stoveBWBW0844 as soon as you entered… and

the stairway that made it’s way to the atticnarrow and steepk4702333

I loved playing on the steps… leading me up into the one long room that consisted of a bed,  a low ceiling and one big window… It overlooked the weeping willow tree k7038338and green grass… My sanctuary at times with the Sears Catalog1942SearsChristmasBookPage0001 … as I cut paper dolls from it headernostainjpg_000… and pretended to be whoever I wanted…

When the bigger house was finished… a solid.. bigger door was usedk10797263 … to keep us safe… a screen door attached with it so we could feel a cool breeze on hot summer nights…

there was no air conditioning

This door … entered the living room of knotty pine k9900318 beams in the ceiling viewable as you stepped inside… along with the staircase leading up to the second floor… It’s little cubby window indented inside the staircase wall… that always held Mom’s glass domed anniversary clock QHN006GLH given to her by Daddy…

I always remember the feeling of peace, love and safety as I walked through that door…

k7485424

We had three other doors… but, this was the main door right off the big porch that held the swing

The backdoor HOUS_27C … was used all of the time… Neighbors… family and friends… knew this led to the dining room with the big table… where all sat for coffeehome cooked meals and a place to talk… Off from it… the kitchen… which always had good smells coming from it…k8969476

The door on the actual front of our home that Daddy built was hardly ever used

because there was no sidewalk leading to it… The door was surrounded with stones Dad had brought up from the creek and a porch led downward… But, for some reason…  there were just big trees and green grass for people to walk on

k5159689

so they were drawn to the big porch

I remember sitting in the foyer of this door… a place that allowed me to have a private little space just for me… I would color and play with my paper dolls… with the sun shining in… and be perfectly contentgwil20115

I did often wonder about the sidewalk that was never built

but, never got a clear answer

Maybe it was on my Dad’s  “to do” list that never seemed to get finished

k6192307

Our home was sold after my Dad passed and my Mom who lived alone there for many years was unable to be alone…

I’ve visited “once” since …

and I assure you… it’s never the same… walking in those doors…

The people were just as friendly… and welcomed us to look around…k6236103

But, our home had become theirs

and so many changes had been made…

Not, bad changes… but, changes…

a few walls moved…

painted woodwork… no more knotty pine…

stairwell turned completely around…

different decor and colors…

windows removed…

windows added…

I see how the new owners love this home my Dad built k2681482 trd022tg29328… but, have now made it their own… and looking intheir door” x27078772

I’m sure they have good feelings too…cfr0010

and that is as it should be!

9 thoughts on “DPchallenge: Through the Door

  1. wow, that is cool to know your dad actually built his own home…and well built since you got to revisit it. precious memory and love your story ♥

    • Thanks… I love writing about my younger years… I’m lucky that it was so good…and, Yes… he built the whole thing by himself… bringing boards home one week… a window another day…etc. …They never had a mortgage…Unlike us…

Leave a Reply

