Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

I have always wished I would have went to collegek13870951

My parents didn’t go and really very few of our family did… until my generation had children

Most all of our children have gone to college… and their children will absolutely go…

k3083564

I talked about it to my Mom… but, the thought of the unknown was pretty much not discussed… dougla0028s

There was the expense… for one thing… but, compared to today… it was nothing…sps0438

We all were to either get married have kids… and maybe work

Work meaning a trade of some kind… factory x17066401child care… elderly care… cook… waitress k9592294 … retail, etc. …

I was fortunate to get hired and work at the Telephone Company (Bell South) as a Long Distance Operator… and then an Information Operatorsfo0464

Just a test was required… as I remember… of about 2-3 pages… Basic common sense… reading… writing… math skills…u16545704

Positions that could be taught by others who had experience

After six years I had married k8117625 and had two sonsk5105796 … I felt they needed me at home and decided being a stay at home Mom would be my full-time job

Not a regret… but, I wanted more!

I wanted to either be a Teacher  sfo0159 or do something with Artk8413105

and to my amazementwithout college… I obtained a job in the Public School System after the boys went to school…

I kept a job as a Teacher Assistant with Special Education Students k0662770 … for 30+ years… being able to use my art skills… and received my full retirement

Yes, I feel my life turned out pretty good… but, the knowledge I have now… feeling I could have learned so much car0030 and the career I could have had… haunts me still… u15284580

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

Leave a Reply

