M is for Mom – Free Write Friday prompt

This is my post for Kellie’s Free Write Friday prompt. 

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/05/10/fwf-free-write-friday-m-is-for-mom

My first memories of my Mom is laying in her lapfeeling her arms wrapped around me… a feeling of love and securityk10765920

As I grewI watched her intently learning all those things she stayed busy with…k12108458

Hanging clothes on the line in our yard… after washing our clothes in a wringer type washing machineu26177032

Sprinkling the fresh air clothes cof1153and rolling them up to be ironed on the wooden ironing board she had salvaged from the 1937 flood here in Louisvillek8051007

Cutting the crust off of the bread with her favorite cookie cutter to make us special little sandwiches with scalloped edgesk3156579

Cutting paper dolls that held each others hands… some girls …some boys… gww64684591

Frying chicken in the big iron skillet k7626384and how she could always make enough to feed whoever showed up for dinner…with the greatest of ease…

Taking walks with me down to the creek k1523077 catching tadpoles and telling of how they would soon be frogsk10312337235px-Kaulquappen_Tadpole_3

Snakes… beware… always watch where you walk Roly Poly  Millipede bugs… watch how they roll up when scared…Glomeris_marginata_1Grandaddy Long Legs… good for eating other bugs… don’t hurt them… Caterpillars 62313438_m90TPBo5… they will turn into beautiful butterfliesk6028940… Amazing isn’t it!…

I hear her voice explaining so many things…

I watch as she sews on the Singer treadle sewing machine mMe4fyqNZnjouBxZjh_feAA … later teaching me … her foot going up and down … threading the spool through the hooks and eye of the needle… replacing thread on the bobbin… so quickly …

The little dresses…pajamas… nightgowns… aprons… sewn with thoughts of that person she was making them for… swirling in her head…

saf0031

Brushing my hair… making a ponytail that would stay up all day…k12532526

Making my baby doll diapersk3406638 out of rags she always saved… and even a blanket to keep it warm…

Always having a little change k4795565set aside for the ice cream man who came by on his bicycle k9178485and for a quart of chocolate milk from the milkman

The beautiful plants… flowers and even tress planted and cared for with her green thumb… Everything grew in abundance… and she talked to them as she sprinkled them with the watering can ruggia0622c lilacsk3290020…daffodils… violets… petunias k6381330 … rosescherry tomatoes and green onions

I was getting older…

I had the shoes… clothes… that all of the other girls wanted… maybe a little later but, I got them…

Her… helping a person here and there that needed an extra pair of hands… and making that extra dollar mm01p006for us kids… Nothing for herself…

She never seemed to “want” or “need” anything…

I knew Mom would be home when I arrived home from school… welcoming me and asking how my day had been…

A comforting feeling…

She was always helping me… as I learned to drive our car in the front yard… and up and down the driveway… practicing when Dad was at work… and passing my driving test with flying colors… as she had asked me the questions from the book I studied from over and over…

k6995304

She was there when I married… helping invite the family and friends to my small wedding before my Bobby went to Viet Nam

She was with me when I had my two sonsk8507331k8507331… two of her many grandchildren

She was strong for us when daddy passed away… and in turn it became our turn to take care of her…

Trying to keep the grass cut… repairs on the house Daddy had built… and taking her for appointments bfa0026and grocery store runs… she had never driven a car except in the country on back roads…

The tide had turned…

Mom eventually comes to live at my home… welcomed of course… living and being part of our little family for five years

She talks and talks of the past… as we learned many stories of her growing up years u17977542… An honor… to listen to her reminisce… with a smile on her face and maybe a little whimsical tear in her eye at times…

She eventually leaves us to be cared for in the nursing home k5266113not far up the road… Better care for her last years… which was three

She lives to be 98 years of ageA full life… a long life…

I feel her to this day… when my heart hurts k8376139… when I feel joyk4132964 … like a slight breeze caressingu12713348 me as I turn and almost expect to see her …

Thank you Mom… I miss you!

16 thoughts on “M is for Mom – Free Write Friday prompt

  1. What a beautiful story and I know your Mom was a wonderful caring lady and her love shows through you. Have a Happy Mother’s Day Marilyn!! May your day be as special as you are filled with all good things.

    Love & hugs,
    Andrea

  2. This is a beautiful & touching write, I love the lists of lessons and shared moments, it brought back my own buried memories & has inspired me to attempt to write a 2nd poem on this prompt.
    98 what a long life, she will be in your heart now forever, Kim pasted this quotation on her FWF & it is so true;
    A mother’s love is instinctual, unconditional, and forever.
    – unknown

  3. Pingback: Memories of My Own Story | awritersfountain

Leave a Reply

