My Sunday Gratefuls: May 19, 2013

I went to Wal-Mart to pick up a few necessities?… coffee k3702550… soft drinks k10117059… a “goody” k2342269 for my husband…

As I walk in… the display of “fresh corn” on the cob…  grabs me…

I picked up  an ear from the stack… pulling down on the husk k6652634a little to better see what was inside… white u19763315 … yellow x19150595 … variegated k10443979 …

I love white corn and to my surprise that’s what I had in my hand…

and it looked so fresh and good…

I gathered a couple of more ears making sure they had white kernels

A lady standing near by proceeded to hand me a plastic bag k9156499to put them in… She asked, “Do you need two bags?”…

“No, thanks”, I said…”one will do”…

I probably looked like I was going to fill up my basket with itk7656825 … by the smile on my face…

k8647416

I was just thinking of how good it was going to taste

Boiled in a little sugar-water for extra sweetness u20756832 no holding back on the butter x20677052

and a little salt/pepper Yummy! … a little licking of the lips was probably seen…

Not on my list…. but, part of lunch was already being planned…

I meandered through the veggies… remembering I needed onionssma0050

I don’t just buy any onions in the summer… It has to be those big… sweet Vidalia’s OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The best on hamburgers, in salads or chopped up on hotdogs which I was going to grill today …

Bbq k2266531

I needed to get on my way… because I could buy all of the fresh produce k12396930 that is so abundant this time of year…

So, my grateful today goes out to all of the farmers x14579890and people k5152600who have their own personal little gardens

The ones that have those magical green thumbsk7057796 that keep us supplied with all the fresh produce in stores and roadside standsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking off husks… and shiny silks…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I break them in half = 8 pieces…

(also fits in my pan better) … Plenty for the 3 of us…

Keep that white corn coming!

5 thoughts on “My Sunday Gratefuls: May 19, 2013

  1. Pingback: Sunday Gratefuls – May 26, 2013 | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  2. Pingback: Sunday Gratefuls- June 30, 2013 | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  3. Pingback: My Sunday Gratefuls – July 7, 2013 | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

