#FWF Free Write Friday: Image Prompt

Credit: Tumblr

free write friday kellie elmore

kellieelmore.com

I was leaving… I had planned it for a long time…

With the way the world was becoming… why not!…

I had nothing left here…

He had left … without a word…

I could only imagine he was as fed up with my actions as I was with his…

The life that had been… lost…

 Somewhere between the war… his return… and trying to get back that special something we thought we had…

I believe it had just slowly crumbled…

Like the paint on some of the older homes here… The sun had just faded them… they had lost their brightness… their clarity… their strength to stand upright…

No one lived in them… had been abandoned…

Our lives coincided…

Our love tried so hard to hang onto the happiness once shared… the brightness of smiles… the clarity of the shine in our eyes… the hope that it could be renewed…

Neither felt anything… Time to go…

He had just taken the first step…

and now, here I was…

Hitching a ride to ………………. who knows where…

But, my fingers were feeling the breeze… my face was feeling the sun… my heart was beating in my ears…

maybe… just maybe… I would be able to feel again!

        by: Marilyn Griffin

3 thoughts on “#FWF Free Write Friday: Image Prompt

  1. Beautiful writing. Loved this description;
    they had lost their brightness… their clarity… their strength to stand upright…
    Many people found themselves in this position after the war.

  2. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday: Time & Place Scenario | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  3. Pingback: #FWF Write Friday: Quote Prompt (Summer Soltice) | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

