Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Photographers, show us  YOU.

I was named Marilyn Kay… k6575224

I’ve heard a few stories about how my name was chosen…dyi0003

I was born on the same daysame hospitalrco0036 … of another little girl cousin…

I was born 3 hours before her… k4190806

From what I hear my Dad was not so good at watching anything to do with birthsFainting… right out! Out_Cold

Mom and my bigger sister from what I hear thought a neighbor’s great-niece was the cutest little girlk12843214 … and my sisterwho can be pretty persistentbegged Mom to name me Marilyn… this little girl’s name…

My sister’s name being Carolyn… made our names sound like twin names… maybe there was something to that too…x19209803

Then… my oldest brother who was in the Coast Guard 75px-US-CoastGuard-Seal_svg… sent my Mom a letter szo0433 wanting me to be called Donna Kay… if I hadn’t already been named… From what he says… a girlfriend at the time and of course he thought that was a beautiful name

Mom compromised and “Marilyn” stayed and “Kay” was added… making them both happy…

Evidently my birth was a little special… since Mom was 40 and Dad 41… and my sister’s and brother’s were all older… My sister being 6 years older… when I was born…

Surprise! 15477-39dgk8410538

mkg renfro valleymkg renfro valley

Two Years old (1951) … taken at Renfro Valley… Kentucky’s Country Music Capital in Eastern KY

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

  1. Marilyn,
    Cute story.
    That last comment about renfro valley is very interesting. Daddy use to
    play in a band at barn dances when I was very very young. The band was named “Renfro Brothers and Ever Ready Playboys”. I wonder if your parents ever heard my dad play? Too late to ask them now.
    Dorothy

  2. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

