You Can Always Ask Grandma!

Granddaughter callsk9934059I’m usually surprised… because at 11 years old… she just doesn’t call me to chit-chat

She is wondering if I have anything I would like to have done… She is in need of money for vacationk14025282

My mind starts thinkingWhat can I have her do???

and whenk1426336

I tell her I will think about it… but, I’m sure I will come up with something…

Actually she will be having two trips

One with Mom, Dad, little brother and maybe big sister… to KennywoodlogoIn Pittsburg…

Her Momma has fond memories of it… where she grew up… and knows the kids will love it like her…

rollerCoastersclassicRides

The other is to a family reunion k2528525 with her other Grandma, her Mom, and little brother to Missouri k1896155and k13402358 …

Lots of plans for that and sounds like a lot of fun

But, she NEEDS MONEY! k12282242

With our son… coming over to have his Dad put brakes on their car k5922727k12404745before their trip… I called and asked if the kids were coming with him…

Yes, they are coming…

So, with me just getting up… my plans were slowly coming together… as to what they could dok8377680

Because now… it was Kennedy and little brother wanting to make some money

I had to come up with double the jobs… and ones suited for each…

plus double the money!

Kennedy… unload dishwasher… and reload… I will start it…

k8266619HOUS_22C

Carson… Come help me make the bed… k7783236

Carson… I’ll plug-in vacuum sweeper… You can run it in the hall, living room and computer room…k12349625

OK… no problem!…

Kennedy… through with dishes

You straighten my papers on my computer table… It will look quite a bit better in a straight stack instead of my “throw it in a pile” look… u10220881

and if you want to straighten anything else… feel free

Carson has now finished with vacuuming… so taking out the trash to the bigger can was done…k0599872

Looking around… what I saw… was quite nice and neat

Actually… they did a great job!u15116730

My day was starting out much more organized in such a short time…

They were giving me that look… you know the one… when they don’t want to ask

but,  want to find out how much I’m going to give them… for all they did!…

I told their Dad we are going to Wal-Mart to pick up a few things… and I needed to get some cash…

We walked through Wal-Mart… They kinda hint and sometimes come right out with something they might want… first watermelon k1598590… No, we have some at home…We keep walking…

I hear them whispering that they would be getting paid… so don’t ask for things…k13864888

They are just so cute!

They wanted to try the new “Sherbet” Oreo Cream Cookies7155657361_c35215617c“Shure, Bert!” …

and Gator Ade 1371652786084529423017is always a winner…

I picked up what I needed and when we left the store I handed each a $20.00 bill…

k0012268

I wish I could have done more… but, they were elated!…

Going on and on how great it was to earn their $20.00…

That made me feel good!… and with “thank yous” a few times…

Kennedy is explaining how they are putting all of their earned money together and then will split it up between them… k9196819

How neat is that!…

Carson was having a little withdrawal I think when we passed the Crane Machine… where you try to pick up stuffed animals or other objects …

but, he made it past it… and he was proud of himself that he was able to restrain himself… (he’s only 8)…

acme-crane-company-43-crane-redemption-game-benchmark

They were tickled telling their Dad what they had earned… and when Mom happened to call I heard them telling her too…k7259297

I think it makes kids feel good about what they achieve… when given these small beginning tasks…

I give their parents credit… for putting the “bug in their ear” k8641201 about asking Grandma for some jobs to do… What better way to teach… and have them learn!

4 thoughts on “You Can Always Ask Grandma!

  1. they will respect that money more because they earned it and it wasn’t just handed to them, plus they are learning if you want you work for it

Leave a Reply

