Growing Projects

It seems every time we start a projectit grows!…

If we paint a room… k5493600we end up changing the decorations in it…

If we replace a car partx28486976 it usually requires something else to be fixed

I go to wipe down the ceiling fans k3311816and it leads to the walls and everything on the walls having to be cleaned

I think you know what I mean…

We decided to just paint the floor of the deck and the flat parts around the top…

x16774679

Next thing I know… husband says, “I think I need to replace a board”… OK… one board… not so bad…

As he’s replacing the board… “I think I’d better go ahead and replace the one that meets that one… It will look better and I’ll probably have to do it next year anyway”…

OK… two boards… Not too bad… I wasn’t having to do the work…

k12753362

So in doing this he had to shorten the rails a little to even everything out…

It looked great!… and so I wasn’t surprised when he says, “I’m going to do the other sideIt needs to match”… and of course I agree… I hate things half done… and if it didn’t match my eyes would focus on it every time we were sitting on the deck!… So Yes, go ahead!…u14360931

I wasn’t yet involved… he’s the carpenter…k6720782

I just bring the iced teak6036430 , coffee and waterk3882534 … and have lunch fixed when he takes a break

k13231868

All done with the “repair” job… the painting part begins…

He chooses “Barn Red”… a little brighter than what we had… so , YES!… you guessed it… the whole deck gets a coat of paint… 16′ X 16’… with a smaller part of 8′ X 8′ and the long steps that I requested when we added this addition…

23c34072-3b11-4f09-85e9-ab000b5960c7_300

I stepped up to the plate… to help paint… knowing how hard he had worked on the carpentry part…

He actually did the most work… I was going to help one day after I got home from my swimming aerobic class… and he had it all done!… He just wanted me to paint a piece of lattice that goes on the side…

Knowing I was getting off lightlyI readily agreed

Was this project finished???

Well no…

New caps for the postsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and four new lights that come on automatically when the sun goes down…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks amazing!… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, all I need is that tin roof tuff-rib-metal-roofing-panelover it… that I want… where we can sit out when it rains…

Did I say, “Projects just seem to grow!”

6 thoughts on “Growing Projects

  1. I couldn’t help giggle as I read this. Just remember it always starts out as a baby snowman and soon is is Papa!!!!! LOL, On the serious side, the deck looks real good!

  2. I love your deck and I know exactly what you mean. Tha same sort of thing is still happening in our dining room! The floor is done, the picture rails have been lifted to put them back where they should have been. The whole room has been painted but now the fireplace needs needs attention……… One day it will be done – and did I mention the soft furnishings? Oh, I so know what you mean! :)

Leave a Reply

