Mom’s Wood Ironing Board…

I remember as a little girl Mom ironing on her wood ironing boardk1648191 She would make a pad to cover it… sewing it on by hand…

I learned to iron on Daddy’s handkerchiefsk11456837k13865108 pillowcasesk13527538anything flat…

Of course I finally graduated to ironing all items…

after watching Mom closely…  k9381724

I only press a few things now… I have an over the door ironing board… in my bedroom,… which gets little use since I’m not working anymore…

But, there is always something that has gotten wrinkled in the closetk5437007 … and needs pressing… Also when I sew every once in a while… I press seams and such…

k15013667

When Mom moved in with me… she gave her ironing board to my brother… He kept it and varnished it shiny… using it as a table

Clever I thought…

I had no space for it when my sister-in-law asked if any of us wanted it… after my brother passed…

But, my niece… loves antiques… anything old… and jumped at it…

She would use it somewhere!…

She now has a place at the lake… and is fixing it up…

She asked me to paint a Rooster on it… and the words…”Rise and Shine”… that her Mom always said when she woke her and her other 5 brothers and sisters up to go to school…u29806591

I had saved the cutest picture I had seen on the internet somewhere… of a Rooster pouring coffee

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo I had saved from internet…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Other photos I ran from clip art

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Geting my paint and some new brushes to start project…

She said that would be great…

Of course I made it “my own” to include a sunshine… and the words…

Rise and Shine!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mom’s wood ironing board…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used chalk to sketch picture I wanted to paint… rubs off easily!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tablecloth first… and sunshine rising… for background…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Completed project!

I texted her the finished product… and she seems to like it… will tell more when she picks it up…

It was fun… and memories swirled as I painted it… of Mom and me as a little girl… learning to iron

I estimated Mom’s ironing board is about 80 years old…

This link shows different ways old wooden ironing boards are used…

http://firstadream.blogspot.com/2010/08/wooden-ironing-board.html

14 thoughts on “Mom’s Wood Ironing Board…

  1. Hi Marilyn,

    This ironing board is too cute!! I bought 2 wooden ironing boards to paint, but so far I haven’t found the time to do it. Between tutoring, maintaining all the booths, traveling, working at the KY State Fair, household chores and planning a wedding I just don’t seem to have the time for fun stuff. Those wooden ironing boards have really increased in price. I remember buying mine for about $18.00 each. Lately the prices on them are $40.00 and up. When is your painting class starting?? Talk again real soon!! Hugs, Andrea

  2. I too remember ironing handkerchiefs, pillow cases, and graduating to shirts. I can picture it on Arnoldtown Road in the room with the sunny window and the smell of fresh laundry unrolled piece by piece. I would stand and iron for an hour I guess. And enjoyed it. Your art work is stunning, Marilyn. What a gift. So glad your mother’s board is still in the family and being enjoyed.

  3. Pingback: Birds Are Much Happier! | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

