Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LEARNING.

It has been 3 years since I retired… Time has flown by quickly… minutes to hours… hours to days… and now days to years…

Yes… I miss school… I spent 12 years of just attending school like any other kid…

loving every minute of it…

School was fun to me…

cursive writingk13341811  I loved making those beautiful curved letters…

readingk0764029 not easy for me that first year… had no pre-school or kindergarten at that time… but, by the next year… I was learning quickly and asked to help other kids…

mathk0866279my torment… but, when learned… felt so proud… Hated reading problems as they were called… but, loved geometry… drawing all of those angles and shapes… using a compass… protractor and ruler… (the art in me I guess)

geographyk13435154learning of different countries… people… places… I would never see… a world opened to me through books and films…

history…x28646849 learning of past presidents and who formed our land… laws… the constitution… discoveries made by people… found it to be quite interesting…

englishk0273001 Loved words… never liked learning all of those names for different parts of speech… nouns… pronouns… adverbs… I did love adjectives… descriptive words… how wonderful!… letter writing was neat… punctuation could give me fits…

literatureu19066330 stories … books… heroes… characters… authors…  fun!

sciencek9050519 planets… rocks… experiments… equations (yuck!)… earth… formulas (another yuck!)… bugs…animals…birds… people… VERY interesting…

artu16211303favorite subject for me… the smell of crayons… paints… the pencils for drawing… colored chalk dust… colored paper…clean white paper to put that first bit of color on… Loved it!

musicu13121621 singing… sometimes dance… instruments… piano playing… harmonizing… chorus… A happy feeling …

play timek12697727inside and out… jump rope… kick ball… games… What’s not to like???

friendshipsk9128274special girlfriends… some to this day!… cute boys…

teachers… sfo0159some good… so memorable… some bad… (Very few)… what each taught and their techniques…

classrooms004v0102dc I dreamed of my own…and how I would fix it… teacher‘s desk… seating charts… colorful pictures…bright sun coming through windows… watching first snowflakes and wondering if we would get out early…

field tripsx11279754visiting places I would never have gone to… seeing things I would never had seen… Hearing things I would never have heard… AWESOME!

lunch time… x21738989sack lunch kids… cafeteria food… cafeteria ladies… sitting talking with friends… always rushing to eat fast in 20 minutes…

bus ride… x11574526I was a safety patrol on the bus… badge and all… noisy kids… but, really liked our bus driver… Mr. G… and the trips on that big yellow bus… so fun sitting with friends…

snack timeMilkcookies and milk… Oreos from a boy who liked me…

This was a description of “my school years“… and then I got a job in the school system… a dream come true… working with special children

30 years later… retired… but, the descriptions of school memories are pretty much the same… work was just like a repeat of my school years… just looking on from a different perspective…

To spend my whole life in school… leaves lots of memories… and yes, k6860167I will always miss those days…

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Leave a Reply

