Daily Prompt: Standout

When was the last time you really stood out in a crowd? Are you comfortable in that position, or do you wish you could fade into the woodwork?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us STANDOUT.

OK… Let’s go back to my High School DaysOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You have a very shy teenager…

You are liked a lot!…

Have many friends…

Have been included in outside activities as well as in school…

But, still painfully shy!…

I talk to my immediate friends constantly…

Even to friends who are boys… on the phone… but, in person… I am a nervous wreck…

I must hide it well… as my tummy is in knots at times…

Because I am always liked…

Senior Year arrives…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ballgames…

Dances…

Prom…

Ring Day…

Class Day…

Yearbook time…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We have an assembly to announce all of the superlatives…

Best All-Around…

Most Likely to Succeed…

Most Athletic…

Cutest Couple…

You get the picture…

I’m enjoying “watching” from the bleachers… as all of the “popular” kids are named and awarded …

and then like a dream… They are announcing Mr and Miss Panther… Our mascot… k9147405

“Did I hear “My” name?

“Are my friends saying, “They called your name!”…

“You need to go up on stage!”…

I’m in shock! …

I feel like I’m in a daze…

My feet are moving… but, don’t feel as though I am walking…

What is happening?

I’m Miss Panther?

Couldn’t be!

Mistake!

I’ve made my way to the stage as the other students are applauding…

For me!

They are asking for me to speak…

SPEAK!… I can’t even breathe…

A teacher says to me…”Just say thank you!… That will be fine!”

I do manage to open my mouth to acknowledge… and receive a bouquet of Red Roses…k12802966

and a Yearbook with my name engraved on it…

I open it later to see photos of “ME” that had been taken… unknowing to me… the plan of the Yearbook StaffOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I felt so happy!… but, amazed!

that my fellow students/teachers felt so highly of me… and had truly given me a wonderful surprise!

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Standout

Leave a Reply

