Another Redo!

My Mom had a small table in our dining room for many years…

It was just Dad and her living together now…

and to heat the big oven was not necessary…cof0842

She had purchased what we always called an “ovenette”…

Small Ovenapl0053

Today we call them Toaster Ovens

She placed it on this small table my dad had painted a pale green… and used it for many years…

Placing her biscuits, toast or small casserole in it to bake…u15588133k6874967

The grandkids to this day remember it…

My brother had obtained it in her move from the home place…

He painted it a bright green to match the decor in his little country home he had obtained in Bethlehem, Indiana by the Ohio River

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They brought it back to Louisville when they moved back… and had it in their kitchen

area …u11297102

My brother has since passed and my sister-in-law was doing some changes…

I obtained the table…

Not worth anything but, memories… but, special to me…u15284580

I knew immediately I would repaint it to match my computer room…kch0046

Gray and red…

As I looked at it… I could tell the top was warped from heat probably… remembering it’s

use by my Mom… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and it was covered in Veneer…

It peeled off easily due to age , the heat, and dryness of the wood…

Underneath I found it to have been burnt from years of the little oven sitting on it…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank goodness… no fire had ever been started…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After sanding… the top was replaced…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My husband and I replaced the veneer with a thin board… Painted it gray and red…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and it is now going to be used in my computer room for papers, magazines, etc. …u20509602

It kind of makes me feel happy having it there…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reminding me of my Mom, Dad… and brother…

I believe they all would be pleased to see it still in the family and updated for the times…

Now to straighten up my computer room and get everything organized!

5 thoughts on “Another Redo!

Leave a Reply

