VVV Challenge

TUESDAY’S A TO Z CHALLENGE
The letter “V”…
http://www.flickr.com/photos/frizztext

As soon as I read the prompt for the week was the letter “V” from “frizztext”…

I immediately thought of my cousin Vera…
Some “V” words to describe her are…
vivacious… lively; animatedk6543910

vigorous… strong; active vmo0012

venturesome… bold; daring u13543456

variable… diverse  car0191

viable… take care of self  u20665558

vibrant… lively; vigorousk15798830

verbal… in speaking and writingk15245685

versatile… capable of doing many things competently k15902140

vigilant… alert; watchful     k14783181

We have known each other since we were very young…
My first remembrance of her was when we played at her house around 5 years old…
I’m sure we were together sooner than that… but, I actually can’t remember…
I lived in the county… more like a country setting with a big yard… creek and woods…
She lived downtown… on a busy street… with a park nearby
I imagine we both loved the differences…
Kinda like the City Mouse and Country Mouse book…

510a6cx9vHL__SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

http://youtu.be/3XTU-jB83zc
We got along pretty well… we definitely had different personalities…
Vera more of an action kid… more adventurous I would say…
Me… a coloring book / crayons kid… although I loved outside too…
We continued our cousin relationship off and on until we graduated from High School…
Then… she married… and I was working and dating
She then moved for a while… and when she returned to LouisvilleI had married… and she had re-married after a divorce…
We both had boys… She had one and I had two…
We became more like fast friends during this time…
and did most everything together
Kids played… dinners were eaten… and we talked for hours on the phone…
Then… she moves again…
and our lives were busy with our new families and kids…
Lots happened…
but, some how… we reconnected…
and I really don’t know how that happened…
Maybe it’s a cousin thing
Maybe it’s that we had become more like friends…
and when you are friends… it’s forever!

She still lives out-of-town but,
we now… talk most mornings for about an hour as she travels to her job… and I am getting up to start my day after retiring…
We never tire of each other’s conversations… Sometimes her talking and sometimes it’s all about me…

Husbands ask, “How do you have so much to talk about?”…
We visit a few times a year… and have spent many Christmases together… her and her husband visiting here… because of other family living here also…
I’m glad she is my cousin… but, I’m really glad she is my friend!

2 thoughts on “VVV Challenge

Leave a Reply

