Memories I Share- Keepsakes I Treasure- Gifts I Give

Today has been any day but, Saturday… k15592485

I don’t know how many times… it has run through my mind…

“This can’t be Saturday!”…

But, it is… k8244780

and Grandkids are coming to spend the night…

I’ve decided to make Salt Dough Ornaments with them…

I made them with my own boys when they were young…

and are still popular to make with kids today…

A batch is made from:

1 cup flour k5321953

1/2 cup salt k15567264

1/2 cup water k15231832

Stir and knead it like a dough… (NOT Edible)

Need:

Rolling Pin sps0484

Cookie Sheet (I’m covering mine with Parchment Paper) k3256346

Toothpick or any object that will make a hole to hang the ornament with…

I usually use a straw… Makes a perfect hole for the hanger…k11774114

Miniature Cookie Cutters or any shaped object that will cut like a cookie cutter… k1256891

After baking in a 250 degree – 300 degree oven for 2 hours…

Let cool completely and paint with acrylic paints k5428594

Glitter Glue or Glitter Paint can also be used… k5218174

I also spray mine with a clear acrylic to make them shiny and lasting…

Ribbon… twine… string for hanging… k12873004

Will post our creations tomorrow…

Today… after deciding it IS Saturday…

I decided to pack cookies for mailing next week…

This post shows my baking

https://babyjill7.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/making-christmas-cookies/

I had bought containers for the ones going out of town…

Neighbors were put on pretty Christmas Paper Plates…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I layered the containers… with the cookies… parchment paper… more cookies… paper… more cookies… and a last layer of tissue paper to keep them from breaking in their journey out-of-town…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will put them in another box… so hopefully they will reach their destination with little breakage

I’ve been doing this for many years…

so I think I’ve got it pretty much in control…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With mailing them next week… I feel they will get to enjoy them before Christmas when people come by to visit…

I even had some left for my own cookie jar! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Comments on: "Salt Dough Ornaments and Packing Cookies" (11)

  1. Your salt dough reminds me of when my kids and I did this. And your cookies? You my friend are making my mouth water. This time of night is when I love to snack. Cookie anyone? LOL

  2. you inspired me – maybe i will try to make some cookies this year. 🙂

  3. How pretty and festive! Your cookies all look delicious. I am hoping to try some confetti cake mix cookies with our Christmas baking.

  4. Thank you for the reminder of salt dough. I used to make it for our children and must remember it for the Grandchildren as they get older. Love your Christmas cookies too. 🙂

  5. […] Salt Dough Ornaments and Packing Cookies (babyjill7.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

cabinsinthecloud

Attractions in and around the Great Smoky Mountains

Quirky Books

Read the difference

Mirth and Motivation

Motivate. Elevate. Laugh. Live Positively...

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

HoneyGwhiz

In My Dreams I reached out and touched reality!

Magic in the Backyard

Official Blog of Author Kellie Elmore

Ellicott City Ghostly Happenings

Paranormal Investigations of Ellicott City, Maryland

mybeautfulthings

Finding the beautiful in the everyday

harbin77

Just posting my thoughts, pictures and the link below is my sons web site

Freeda Baker Nichols

MY TRUE SENTENCE -- PROSE, POEMS & PHOTOS

Got Meghan's Blog

"Follow your soul. It knows the way"

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Who I am

Still Trying to Figure Things Out

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Light Words

Better Living Through Beauty, Wisdom and Whimsey

Retired Ruth

Memories From a Boomer

sewingfeet

Bringing an attitude of curiosity to life...

