Daily Prompt: A Source of Anxiety

Write about a noise — or even a silence — that won’t go away. (We’ll let you interpret this in different ways…)

Photographers, artists, poets: show us ANXIETY.

I was following a Coca Cola truck 75px-CocaColarekka into the bank parking lot… It headed the same way I was going… through the drive thru…

k0141637 whe0033

All of a sudden… the truck stopped so suddenly I slammed on my brakes!…

I’m wondering, “What are you doing?”…

and it starts backing up really fast… k4013405

My mind is spinning… “Get it in reverse!”, I kept saying to myself…

My mind, hands and body were not cooperating… there was this strange “beeping sound”…k6967133

All I could see was the truck’s rear end backing up on me fast!…

It started to hit my bumper… crushed the hood… I ducked as it broke the windshield… u17678721

and then it stopped… k12536668

I actually thought I was going to be decapitated… sma0103

I actually looked down and to see if I was OK… alive…

The guy driving… came running back… very concerned

asking if I was alright… I said, “I guess so… I’m in one piece!”…

It finally connected that the beeping sound I was hearing was from the truck… letting people know they were backing up…

But, that only works if there is time!…

They were on top of my car… literally… before I could move…

People from the bank came running out… asking me if I was OK again…

and actually leading me into the building…

They were telling me that they saw it all!… from the drive thru window

I thought I was alright… but, I was shaking franticallyk13568909 … and when I finally got inside I noticed I had actually wet myself…

I was so embarrassed… rca0017

I called my husband…

He came… got all of the informationk11719318 x28667473… talked to the guys driving… as Coca Cola people came and took pictures…

Believe it or not… I remember asking if the guy would lose his job???… I wasn’t wanting that!…

Here I was… the “injured” party… and I’m thinking about the guy who hit me…

I wondered if I was delirious… but, my husband just says…

“No, that’s just the way you are!”…

My car was fixed… after a few weeks…

but, to this day… if I hear a beeping noise of any kind… my head goes down… my shoulders tense… and I start looking around me…x11582863

and what’s sad…

the one who caused this accident… has no clue or thought about me… long gone… and forgotten about for sure!… but, still after five yearsbeeping noises” make my heart starts racing… I tighten up… my anxiety level rises… bringing back that awful feeling of helplessness…

k8991711

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A Source of Anxiety

  1. Even as I was reading it I was tensing up. What a scary feeling seeing that big thing coming at me. Oh my gosh! So glad God and angels were protecting you! Whew! What a day!

  2. glad you came out of it without physical damage to you – sorry about the car. yikes! i also fear driving on the long stretch of highway and suddenly your car is between two big semi-trucks. talk about heart beating…

Leave a Reply

