Homemade “Apple Pie”

With a couple of apples left in the fruit bowl… (a neighbor had brought us a bowl of apples, pears, kiwi, bananas, grapes, oranges, nuts and candy for Christmas)…. k0439704

I decided it’s either time for apple salad or a pieApple-Pie

Since my baking skills have been honed this Christmask6189911 … I decided on the pie…

k15506967

Found a basic Apple Pie Recipe… including crust…

CRUST:

2-1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

1 cup shortening ( I used Butter Flavored Crisco)

5 – 7 tbsp. ice-cold water

Combine flour , salt and shortening with hand until crumbly like cornmeal.

Add water and shape into a ball, mixing with hand.

Roll out 1/2 of dough on floured counter… Don’t play with dough very much… the less handling… the flakier the crust…(my Momma taught me that!).

Cover bottom of pie pan ( I had a disposable one left from baking ).

Apple Mixture:

6 cups apples sliced thin… tart is recommended…( about 4 apples )

I peeled mine…

3/4 cup sugar

1- tbsp. cornstarch ( I had to use flour )…

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground allspice

1- tbsp. lemon juice ( not, necessary, but keeps apples from turning brown)

Pour mixture onto bottom crust131229_001

Place other crust on top… 131229_003

Vent… a few slits to allow steam to come out of pie while baking…

I cut out a few stars from the leftover dough and laid on top… Used a fork to crimp edges…

Baked at 350 degrees for 45 minutesx12001565

Bubbly and golden brown…

131229_007

Mine was a little too sweet… due to using 3 different kinds of apples…

k7167108k8174415k8020581that I had…

but, crust was amazing!

5 thoughts on “Homemade “Apple Pie”

  1. Thanks Jill for stopping by my blog as well linking your recipe to mine.
    You have a very colorful blog. Very delectable.

    I look forward to more from “MKG-Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts”.

    Regards,
    Randy

Leave a Reply

