Daily Prompt: West End Girls

Daily Prompt: West End Girls

Every city and town contains people of different classes: rich, poor, and somewhere in between. What’s it like where you live? If it’s difficult for you to discern and describe the different types of classes in your locale, describe what it was like where you grew up — was it swimming pools and movie stars, industrial and working class, somewhere in between or something completely different?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SOCIETY.

**************************

Yes… we have different classes for sure in our city…k14622037

The rich…”East End” or certain counties…

The poor… “West End”… more toward downtown…

The other poor or what use to be middle class… “South End”…

The conglomerate I call “city dwellers”… A mixture of downtown businesses and “city folk”…

k5593639

I feel “lucky” to be called a “Southender”…

A mixture for sure… and getting more mixed every day!…

We were the Middle Class

Hard working people with the trade jobs, a nice home, clean-cut yards, pride in what we had achieved… as we worked and paid our taxes…

Having neighbors across the fence   neighb_c

Public schools that were a major part of the community…

More in the county… houses sometimes spread out for a few acres

Friendships built that lasted for years k8145280 … First jobs… retired from…

Our area has now changedgetting poorer every day…

Looked down on by some…

A mixture of people from existing families that loved the area so much … they would never leave…

People of different nationalities k5828235brought into our area by churches, foundations…

Different languages heard more than AmericanTSF000109

Stores stocking such different kinds of foods… some I never have heard of… to oblige the different cultures…

People dressing in native dress… and others with attitudes Attitudeand bad language that pour over into what use to be a peaceful area… Manners being forgot “ME” becoming the main topic…

Robberies… stealing… homes destroyed with uncaring attitudes… drugs being sold openlypbu0238 lying in every day conversations… trash everywhereu12203003 police cars prominentk14768283

Yes, I see how our area has changed since I was young…

Progress… I ask… “in what way?”… I see more destruction than benefits… I feel lost in my world… I no longer am thought of…

Benefits given for just existing… food given for no work… businesses opened …when my Dad had to save… show documentation… honor… to get these things…k11775156

As I began writing this simple prompt… it grew…

I see my frustration  k15738866

I wonder how I will be judged… will I lose friends?… from my truthfulness…

Will I be called names… “un-Christian-like”… a “racist”… and other terms people like to throw out…

I am only telling you my observations… maybe you would like to come live in my little part of the world… Any takers???

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: West End Girls

  1. I live on a much smaller scale of what area you live in, but it seeps down into our town also. More of everything you stated. It is sad, a little scary. I don’t go out any longer alone at nights. Not because of my age, but my age has made me realize it isn’t safe anymore like it was when I was growing up. There is no racist remarks in your post, just simple truth and sadness for what once was. Hugs

Leave a Reply

