Saturday in Louisville

Warmer weather has finally settled into Louisville…

The start of all of the Kentucky Derby Festivities began yesterday… kdf-logo

It started with Thunder Over Louisville“… the largest Fireworks Display in North America… ThunderOverLouisville2014

Downtown… on the Ohio River

Approximately 700,000 people made their way to all of the excitement!…

The weather was just perfect80 degrees with a breeze…

There is the Great Lawn… the Belvedere… to sit on… but, basically… every inch of the water front is covered with people, concessions, vendors, air show with the Blue Angels and such… 1397365561001-4-12-14-CopsThunder-03mg8832_600

We have been many times… but, the walking is not so fun any more… for my husband… and I too would probably be worn out afterwards… so our TV became our show… after the sun set on our city…

You can’t imagine that it could get better every year!… but, it does!… A most awesome display!… 

1397366968000-041214-Thunder-Big4Bridge07-FS1397366968002-041214-Thunder-Big4Bridge09-FSff9ad046c2b511e3afc20002c99a4588_8 

Yesterday I met with a couple of friends from my previous job at school…

One friend has moved… and we met and went to her apartment…

It was just lovely!… an older place with huge rooms… and a quaint patio/yard area

Actually… my kind of place… I could definitely be happy in those surroundings…

My friend/husband says, “It is just temporary… we are looking for a smaller house”… but, with a one year lease… they will have time to find the right place…

I would just stay where they are… I love it that much!…

We had a snack of cheese/crackers and then decided on the Cheesecake Factory horizontal_logo for lunch… mpe0008

I’m trying to taste new items…

I had one of Cheryl’s appetizers of lettuce leaf wrap of oriental chicken… light and yummy!… menu_AsianLettuceWrapTacos

We all had a drink… I decided on Fruity Sangria made with the House Red Wine… and so did Cheryl… Linda opted for just the plain House Red Wine…

Veggie Burger with salad for C. burger_veg and Lettuce Wrapped Chicken/Mushroom mixture with a salad for L. lettuce_wraps … I had Shrimp Spring Rolls with two different sauces… Shrimp-Spring-Rolls-59662 and salad…

The homemade Thousand Island Dressing was wonderful!…

I could have just eaten it with a spoon!…

Of course we talked and talked… catching up as we do…

Just love these girls!…

As the name of the Restaurant indicates… “Cheesecake Factory”…

C. and I were not leaving without ordering some…

She had a Lemon Cake Cheesecake with Strawberries… and I am hooked on Peanut Butter Reese’s and Butterfinger Flavor… Reeses-Peanut-Butter-Cheeecake-recipe-Taste-and-Tell-3

YES!… it was good!… but, so full…

We parted ways at Linda’s… promising to get together soon… and we will!…

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “Saturday in Louisville

  1. What a fabulous time out with your friends. The meals all look and sound amazing. I’d love to have seen that enormous firework display.
    All the best to you and yours, small parcel on its way. The lovely Mr S mailed it for me. :)

  2. for some reason this is the only way I can reply to your Blog. I agree Thunder over Louisville is truly a great show to watch. I have never seen it in person. I had my afternoon walk and garbage collection as I walk hopefully it will stay clean for a while.

    I came back and was tired. As I began to watch the air show and it was great. The Blue Angels were the best and as I continued to watch their lovely formations was terrific. As I watched the next thing I knew it was 7 P.M. and I had fallen asleep. Had a salad for a late dinner and watched the rest of the Air Show. Turned my lamp off and watched the Fireworks.. They were great as usual.

    The Cheesecake Factory sounds great. Now for the question How come when I finish reading your Blog there is no place for me to comment like it used to have. It just goes to your next Blog?

Leave a Reply

