Painting for Mother’s Day…

My daughter-in-law had been to a painting party… and the painting she did was just not at all what she expected it to be…

She kiddingly said, “Maybe too many glasses of wine!”…

mpe0007
She asked me to paint over it… and do one for her bathroom she is decorating…

She loves what I call “Simplify” / “Country”/ “Rustic” decor…

and it always looks very cute!…

I hated painting over her work… but, she insisted…

and sorry… I forgot to take a photo of it before I started working on her new one…

It was of a willow tree with a heart on its trunk with her and my son’s initials carved on it!…

Now… do you see how I hated covering it up!…

but, she said, “I will never hang it up!… Please just do it!”…

What she wanted was one of the pictures on her shower curtain$_12

So… since it was Mother’s Day… I finally began on it and finished it today in time to give it to her…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sketching helps me get started!…

We are invited for dinner… her Mom and I… prepared by her and my son…

Grilled Chicken… Sweet/Sour Pasta Salad… Corn on the Cob… and a “surprise” dessert!…

Of course we all will be there because we are celebrating my Granddaughter’s Birthday that was at the end of April also…

She was out-of-town in a basketball tournament at the time of her birthday…

(which they won!… for the State of KY in their division!)… and now will go to the Nationals in TN…

10277463_10202537587979921_2632843121971770640_n

I hope all of you Mother’s enjoy your day… I’m pretty sure… I WILL!k13219495

PS

Since I hadn’t posted this blog… I thouight I would let you know… Mel loved the painting and matched her bathroom perfect!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemon Poke Cake for dessert… and was delicious!…

Lemon Poke Cake Luscious-Lemon-Poke-Cake-564

2- round white cake layers (9 inch), cooled… Leave in pans!

2- cups boiling water

1- pkg. (6 oz.) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin

1- pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Instant Pudding

1- cup cold milk

3- cups thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping

Pierce cakes with large fork at 1/2-inch intervals.

ADD boiling water to gelatin mix; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Carefully pour over cake layers. Refrigerate 3 hours.

BEAT pudding mix and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min.; stir in COOL WHIP. Dip 1 cake pan in warm water 10 sec.; unmold onto plate. Spread with about 1 cup pudding mixture. Unmold second cake layer; carefully place on first cake layer. Frost top and side of cake with remaining pudding mixture. Refrigerate 1 hour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kids playing basketball outside… had a good time! 

Gift cards for the Mothers… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and Kennedy loved Hello Kitty Pillow, Cotten Candy and what was in her Hello Kitty card!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Painting for Mother’s Day…

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, Marilyn! A fine makeover painting . . . shucks, I bet the original was just as lovely. I can see the painting going well with the shower curtain. talented!!

  2. Sounds like your Mother’s day was real nice. I had dinner at my daughter’s house. My son-in-law loves to BBQ even though he really cooks the hamburgers very well done. It was fun watching my grandsons playing and having fun. I also received hand made cards from them of their handprint’s. I also got to tickle Richard who is 5 and that was the best part for me.

Leave a Reply

