Graduation Speech

Happy Memorial Day! k17075316

Hope you all had a great Holiday Weekend… and celebrated someone who is or has… served our country!

A pretty normal week…

working a little… being home doing daily activities… talking to neighbors…

Thursday at work… the four-year old program at the YMCA had their Graduation… leaving the “Y” program to go onto Kindergarten…

there were 14 of them… 140520_002

YMCA-SVG-Common_International_svg

I was asked to write a “speech” for one of our Seniors to give…

After writing it and getting it approved… I went to Irene and told her that she was to give a little talk

Immediately… she said, “I don’t know if I can do that!”… a worried look on her face… Being in her late 80’s… she was quite apprehensive!…

I reassured her she would do fine and that I would be going over her part several times…

She looked at what I had written… and immediately said, “I can’t see it well enough to read”… my eyesight is not so good…

We decided I would read it… but, that I would ask her a few questions at the beginning… and she would be my helper…

This set well!… She would try!…

140520_004

Some of our “Seniors” walked the graduates in…

140520_009

Graduates waiting for their singing to begin…

140520_011

Parents so proud of their little ones as they received their diplomas and medals…

************************************

This is our speech!… I made small posters for Irene to hold of the “senses”… to give her more of a part…

************************************

I am Irene… I come to the Adult Care Program here at the YMCA… and

I have come to congratulate you!

I have been coming to the Adult Day Program for about a year…

I like coming here because it nice being with other people… doing crafts… field trips… games… and the food is “pretty good”!

 

(Speech)

Our Senses help us learn… and that is what you have been doing these last few years…

You have used your EYES to see all that surrounds you… k13870576

People, animals, colors, numbers, words…

You have used your NOSE to notice new smells… k13870580

Foods, rain, flowers, grass… some good …some bad!

You have used your EARS to hear…

Talking, laughter, noises… some loud …some soft…   k13870560

You have used your TASTE… to experience new flavors…

Some sweet, some sour, some salty… k13870591

You have used your TOUCH… to feel things that are soft, hard, rough, wet, dry…k13870597

And now it is time to use your MIND… A Hidden Treasure…

That holds all of these Senses… k5956794

You are ready to graduate… to learn more of what this world has to offer you…

Your world will get bigger and smarter as your mind begins to hold so many more things…

We wish you good times…

Have fun…

Meet new friends…

Pay attention to your teachers…

Listen to your parents…

And all of your Senses… Eyes , Ears , Nose , Mouth and Hands … will help you to become so smart!

Congratulations!

 Graduating Class of 2014…

The audience of parents and staff were quite receptive!… applauding…

I know Irene felt proud… 140520_010

 

and we were all proud of her!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

