A Slimey Creature

We sit outside a lot lately… weather being perfect!…

Either in the swing under the tree in the backyard… or the glider in the front…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We hardly get out until the cats want to join us…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and the neighbors too…

Today was neighbor day and a surprise visit from my sister…

She had been to the cemetery where her two husbands and a mother-in-law are… plus our Mom and Dad…

She had taken flowers k6559407 … Yes… she has lost two husbands to illnesses…

We sat and talked and had iced tea  k1207491 …Good old summertime” … nothing better!…

I was telling them about Kit Kit (cat) trying to get a look under one of my flower boxes OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… and reaching her paw as far as she could reach…

Thinking it might be a spider k4373064 … I wasn’t thrilled with her doing that… and she was so persistent!…

I bent over and looked underneath to see if I could see what had her so engrossed… when I suddenly I saw a slimy looking creature of some sort hanging under the pot… I first thought it was a big slimy snail with its little horns k5914137 … when all of a sudden it fell down and hopped at me!… I screamed of course and finally realized it was a frog!…

k5914208

It wouldn’t have made any difference… whatever it was… I didn’t want it jumping at me… But, no sooner than I looked back… it was gone!…

Kit Kit was still looking under the pot… but, I thought it had jumped away…

Later… Jill… my other cat came out and we see her chasing something fast as it could hop across the yard… k5914208k5914208k5914208

My explanation of… “There it is!”… must have scared her… she ran to the house…

My sister and I had to look closer… we eased ourselves toward where I saw it… and we found it… This frog lay perfectly still… as if it couldn’t move… although I had just seen it hopping quickly across the lawn…

We watched as this slimy… brown…wet looking creature k14389436starts turning green to match the grass k3443379

It was the neatest!…

We let him think that we thought he wasn’t there with his camouflage techniques…

Later tonight… we discovered him by the tree we were sitting under… looking like he was quite at home…

We just hope he gets his tummy full of the mosquitos that seem to be loving our arms and legs!

k52519122385041

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “A Slimey Creature

Leave a Reply

