Recipes: One Old – One New

I thought I would tell you of a few recipes… that I really like…
One is from my childhood…
A simple “salad” or “dessert”… either way… it’s good!…
I sometimes just fix me some for “comfort”…
My Mom made this and I thought she was all that!…
making it look so decorative on a small plate for each of us…

“Banana-Peanut Butter Salad
Ingredients:
Bananas– 1 per person 220px-Bananas_white_background
Peanut Butter– 3 Heaping Tablespoons – Smooth or crunchy…your choice 250px-PeanutButter
Mayonnaise or Miracle Whip– 1 Heaping Tablespoon – Your choice 200px-Miracle_Whip_2010_svg
Syrup– 4 Tablespoons – Again… your choice… 220px-Maple_syrup
I like a maple flavored sweet syrup that I use on pancakes…

Chopped peanuts – to sprinkle on top

DIRECTIONS:

Peel and slice banana lengthwise… then cut both pieces in half…

Arrange the 4 pieces on a small plate… cut side up…

Mix together peanut butter, mayo and syrup to a smooth consistency…

Spoon over bananas

Sprinkle with peanuts…

1012238

This is a photo off the internet… not what I like to present… but, again… Your choice!… It’s your presentation!

YUMMY!

The second recipe came from my Daughter-in-law…

“Sweet-Sour Pasta Salad”

Ingredients:

1- box Corkscrew Pasta

1- Green Pepper– chopped

1- Cucumber- peeled and chopped

1/2 of 1- Sweet Onion– chopped

1- Jar Chopped Pimento

Sauce:

1- can Tomato Soup

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup vinegar

Cook pasta and drain…

After chopping veggies… add to pasta…

Combine ingredients of sauce thoroughly and pour over pasta/veggies… Stir…

Refrigerate and stir every 1/2 hour for about 2 hours…

It can be eaten immediately… but, so much better when sits in sauce…

Delicious!

Refrigerate leftovers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chopped Veggies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweet/Sour Sauce Ingredients

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finished Pasta!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

