Vacation: Day 4

Our friends were leaving for home this morning… They had been gone for almost 2 weeks on their vacation to Florida and Georgia… and so were a little tired and had obligations waiting… but, before leaving we were all going to breakfast together…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  Our group… of course I was taking photo!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Full moon the night before…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vera… ready to go in her Alabama shirt… she had purchased at the Outlet…

We decided on the Pancake Pantry for breakfast… Pancakes, Crepes… were their specialty… but, had anything you could want for breakfast…

Parking was a little funky… because street parking was going to be off in about 30 minutes… so moving cars to parking lots had to be made…

We were taken to a table and orders taken quickly… We actually had hit at a good time… Janice and I both ordered Cherry Crepes without noticing… That’s how our friendship is… We just think a lot alike…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

David and Janice…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jeanette and Carolyn…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bobby and I…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister…

Everyone was pleased… but, BIG helpings were had by all!…

We had decided to look around a little since we were already downtown… but, not all of the shops were open so early…

A few showers began to fall… and Janice and David had left for home… and Jack and Vera had headed back to the cabin…

I love trying to get every minute I can in my vacation doing or looking at something!… Glad my Bobby thinks like me!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The flowers were so pretty throughout the town…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite Donut Shop…

Cinnamon-Sugar Cake Donut… my favorite!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had signed up to go White Water Rafting on the Pigeon River… about 40 minutes from Gatlinburg

Vera and I had been before and really wanted to go on the little harder (rougher) course but, opted to go with Bobby, Carolyn and Jeanette… where we could be together… Jack stayed back at the take off point and waited for us…

Again… the scenery through this area was just awesome  140610_006 … and before we met for our sign up… we visited a small cafe… Pretty much a “Hippie Place”… with the nicest folk to talk to…

140610_003   140610_002140610_001

A young lady who was a white water rafting guide talked and talked to us… She was the cutest…

140610_005

It was the 5 of us and a young lady with two of her young children… and a young man was our guide…

We dressed in light jackets due to rain and then life jackets and helmets… Couldn’t get a photo due to leaving everything in the car for safe keeping… but, I’m sure we were a sight!…

140610_004

The water was lower than usual… and with all of the adults in the rubber raft… it was holding quite a bit of weight…

After getting everyone settled and into the raft we began our journey…

I think my leg went to sleep about three times… Jeanette kept losing her shoe… and our singing of “Row Row Row Your Boat”  ( http://youtu.be/7otAJa3jui8 ) …

probably scared off any bears in the woods!…

The water was cold and the trees along the way so pretty… We didn’t have too many rough spots… but, it was a fun ride…

As we pulled up to disembark… The guide was helping Jeanette out and she was holding on for Dear Life!… I started to get out and help… and just when I got my leg over the side… The guide had to let go of the boat and I fell in!… I’m sure that was another sight!… I was fine!… and actually the water felt good…

We made our way to the bus that would take us back up the River to our starting point… The guides told corny jokes all the way back…

Vera and I purchased our second White Rafting shirt… and hope to obtain another some day… and then proceeded to shower and dress in the accommodations provided…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2013 shirt 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2014 shirt

They have pretty much thought of everything!…

We had spotted a BBQ Restaurant that I had been told about… on the way to the River and so we stopped there for supper on the way back… The BBQ and vegetables were excellent!… I would definitely recommend!… 140610_010

The Hungry Bear!

The day came to an end as we headed back to the cabin and we all pretty much fell asleep quickly!

Next day… back over the mountain!

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Vacation: Day 4

  1. Reading all about your adventures make me feel like I am along with you. You are so lucky to be able to go to such a lovely place and have fun. I can not wait to see where you go next.

  2. Sorry, I have to admit I started laughing when you fell in the water, but I know you well enough, that you took all of that scene in good spirit. I am so glad you all had a wonderful time on your vacation. Many new memories were built.

  3. Hey, sounds like quite an adventure! Fun that you got to do the rafting trip. Your sister looks like you, at least in the photo! Glad your vacay is going well! ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

