I’ll Just Call It “Corn”

It started the other day… when I found a jar full of Corn Holders… at a Thrift Store

I had corn holders once upon a time… but, somehow they have been lost… sold at a yard sale… or given away…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But, when my Daughter-in-law had them at her house… It brought back that I hadn’t seen any at my house for quite some time… A thing to put on my mental list of things I would like to have… if I ever ran across them…

Then the following day at another Thrift Shopping Day… I ran into this lovely clear glass dish about 21″ long by 9″ wide… with the prettiestcorn on the cob” design around the edge…

It was mine!…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could just picture a big plate of corn on the cob when visitors from Georgia come up in a couple of weeks…

and today I found this cute Country Corn Pot Holder… so I felt it was a sure thing that I needed to buy it… what with it being 50% OFF Day!…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then to top it off I had some leftover cut off the cob corn from dinner yesterday… and not to let it go to waste… I fixed Corn Fritters“… and turned out the best I had ever made!…

Recipe- made up by me!…

1 cup Fresh cut off corn that I had cooked…

3/4 cup Fluffy Plain Pancake Mix…

1-egg…

Mixed together and dropped on sprayed hot skillet… turn after browning… They rose perfectly and browned just right… and the taste was to die for!…

Made only about 5 cakes (fritters)… but, plenty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK!… I ate one as soon as it was cooked!

I wish I knew a corny joke to tell you… It would be appropriate right now…

Oh, I do!

Jokes4us.com

Q: Why didn’t anyone laugh at the gardener’s jokes?
A: Because they were too corny!

Q: How did the tomato court the corn?
A: He whispered sweet nothings into her ear.

Q: What did the corn say when he got complimented?
A: Aww, shucks!
Q: Why shouldn’t you tell a secret on a farm?
A: Because the potatoes have eyes and the corn has ears.

Q: How is an ear of corn like an army?
A: It has lots of kernels.

Q: What do you get when a Corn cob is run over by a truck?
A: “Creamed” corn.

Q: What do you call the best student at Corn school?
A: The “A”corn.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I’ll Just Call It “Corn”

  1. You are so very lucky when you go Thrift Shop looking. I know you go on the spur of the moment but I wish I could go along one day. Why could you not use another vegetable in the fritters? Might be fun to try. Of course the jokes would need to change.

Leave a Reply

