Jury Duty… Do You Like to Serve?

I had Jury Duty for two weeks after I got back from vacation…

140624_002140622_004

“Judicial System Building”…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It kinda put a damper on my fun… knowing I would have to miss more work… go downtown in traffic  k9848366 to the big city of Louisville!… and get paid $12.50 for my brilliant knowledge of the Justice System…

Can you tell how much I wanted to do this?… k4542265

I paid $7.00 for parking every day… and that’s with a discount of $1.00 from the parking lot… The city owns no parking in that area… or maybe none at all!… I parked on the 5th or 6th floor every day… 140624_001

(it was always packed!)   k14000566

catching the elevator with fellow jurors k5776977

140622_005

If you bought a coke k7443856 or a sandwich… that literally ate up the rest of the $12.50!…

I took water k10089320 … a snack… and I had my books to read… my phone for Facebook 4561v1-max-150x150 … and one day I even got a few others to play UNO Card Game… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to call in every evening after 6:30pm to see if our group had to report…

No planning anything … even if you were off the next day… due to it being so late finding out…

I managed to get two days of work in the first week… and one the next…

I was pulled twice out of over 100+ people to a group of 30-40… sat in with the lawyers/judge k6479215 and asked questions…

I was so glad I was never picked for an actual case… of 14 jurors…

I think I talked too much when asked questions… stating my opinion freely…k9222154

I noticed they picked the silent types… a more fair trial with people of no opinion…

I did meet a few nice folks read two books OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA … and had a view of the city for a change… which is different from where I live out in the county…

My $62.50 check I will receive in a couple of weeks minus parking and a “little” food… = 0!…

I had a few days off in between… but, still had to call every evening…

140622_003140622_002

“View from 9th Floor”… Where Jury Rooms are…

The Ohio River is in view about 4-5 blocks away…

140622_001

View from up above …Parking Garage…

I’ve done my civic duty as some said… but, I’m not sure “I” achieved anything…

The benefits of serving… and yes I had served before… on two trials back to backk6479326 … is that I can’t be called for two years!…

5 thoughts on “Jury Duty… Do You Like to Serve?

  1. I remember many moons back I got called for Jury Duty. I had to explain in person to the judge that my second son was to be delivered the next day. I was excused and have never been asked again. LOL. It doesn’t seem worth it, the money, the parking, the trip; so I will say, Salute to you Marilyn! You filled your duty!! What an American girl you are! I see you took my book with you…………..thanks

  2. I admire you. Maybe I could borrow that Terry wrote sometime. Now it is back to regular routine. How was Tops this week and did you win at Bunco. I wish I could learn to play Bunco and had people to play with. My life is so dull.

    Maybe now we could plan our day out with lunch please.

  3. i like your observation: they picked the silent types . . . jury tip from Marilyn. :) yes, it is rather a bother but at least you got some time to catch up on your reading list. right on!!

Leave a Reply

