I Made Peach/Hot Pepper/Jam

I read a recipe I think on FACEBOOK…but, couldn’t find it… so I knew it would be on the internet… at least a version that was similar…

It was for Peach/Hot Peppper/Jam

It sounded so good!…

Whenever I’m at Fair or Craft Booths I look for Pepper Jelly… Love it with Cream Cheese and Crackers…

I bought about 10 peaches 8 for my jam and two for my husband

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He’s from Macon, GA… so he loves peaches… (The Peach State) and one Anaheim Pepper… Read where it was mild to hot… in flavor…

I had jars that I had saved… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe:

8- peaches… washed… cut in small wedges OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and then chopped… leaving some bigger pieces and the peel to make the Jam chunky… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1-Anaheim Pepper… about 5-6 inches long… Washed… cut in pieces and the put in blender to get finely chopped…

Please be cautious with any HOT Pepper about getting on hands or in eyes… I just washed my hands thoroughly after cutting!…

5- cups Sugar… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1-Lemon (juiced) = 1/4 cup

1-2 Tablespoons Butter/Margarine

1- Packet of Pectin

Boil Peaches, pepper and sugar for 20 minutes… on medium high heat… stirring often… add butter to prevent foam from forming…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After peaches are tender… Add lemon juice and Pectin and boil for 1- minute…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let cool slightly then pour into 5 10 oz. jars…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let cool a while longer than put on lids freeze

If opened… keep for about 1- month in refrigerator…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So pretty and quite yummy!… will definitely make more!

I posted on FACEBOOKmy Pretty Jam… and a friend from high school wanted to purchase a jar… We hadn’t visited before except at reunions… So, I asked her just to come by and she could have  a jar!..

She took me up on it… and we talked and talked about old friends and who we had kept up with… Such a pleasant surprise!… Jane said she would save the same kind of jars I use… because she eats the fruit that comes in them too…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think we have a deal… She saves jars… and I provide her a jar of jelly or jam!

 

 

13 thoughts on “I Made Peach/Hot Pepper/Jam

  1. Pingback: Wonder Wednesday: What Are You Doing with This Summer’s Bounty? | Light Words

Leave a Reply

