#FWF Free Write Friday: Your Childhood Room

fwf kellie elmore badge

 

I quickly sketched a few of my memories…

I climb Knotty Pine steps to my room…

Dad had built our home himself… and the hand work of this wood was fashioned in every room…

As I reach the top of the stepsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA6635714021_4470e79bbb_s

I see a twin bed nestled under an eve of this pink papered room… A knotty pine built-in bookshelf  lines the wall on one side of the bed… This held anything from books… stuffed animals… crayons… coloring books a glass from a late night snack… a

half eaten apple … OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would lay on this bed pretending to read when I was a young girl… I wanted to read so bad!… but, the words made no sense at that time…

I had watched my sister reading her teen magazines and books…

k4248440

The bathroom was green with white porcelain fixtures… a shelf was built into the wall here too… to hold towels… wash cloths… soap… Good smelly things…

A window pushed open to the roof here…

I was always tempted to climb out that window and sit on the roof… but, knew I would probably get in BIG trouble… So not worth it!

Now, I probably would… my adventurous side came out later in life…

There was a full bed tucked under another eve… I lined my stuffed animals

dalzit0073s

along the pillows… The head of the bed was backed up to a short wall with a ledge… that

I looked over to see the steps… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Daddy had made this room upstairs for my sister, brother and myself…

My brother slept in the back of the room in another twin bed tucked under an eve… with the same bookshelf design

There was a hidden door behind this bed that opened under this eve… and Christmas Ornaments and such were tucked in there

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was fun to crawl back into this space… and see what treasures I could pretend to find…

There was a chair… sitting under the push-out windows on the front of the house… and daddy had built drawers into the wall to hold our clothes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Windows at both ends of this long room… Plenty of light!… two closets facing each other with plenty of room to hang our clothes and extra room in the back for storage…

That rosy pink always comes to my mind… The care my dad took in providing us such a nice place to call our own…

Being the baby… it wasnt long until it my brother married… and my sister and I had this area to ourselves… 5-1/2 years difference… I loved watching her dress in her skirts… sweaters… crinoline slips that made her dresses and skirts so full… you are talking about the late 1950’s and early 1960’s… I imagine I was thought of as a pest!… k0695152

She married… and moved on…

I then had the whole upstairs to my own… Girlfriends spending the night… long talks… about boyfriends… hair-dos… clothes… and such…

I stayed in that room one more year after I married… due to Bobby going to Viet Nam right after we married… I worked and saved money he sent… and when he returned I moved out to spend the rest of my days with him…

This room was built with love… and I tried to convey my sons’ rooms in the same way…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Letting them have their own space… a place to escape to… play in… share secrets… have sleepovers… hold their treasures and just lie and dream…

 

9 thoughts on “#FWF Free Write Friday: Your Childhood Room

  1. You are SOOOOOO talented! I look forward to your writings. I loved Aunt Hazel and Uncle Ed even though I didn’t get to see them often. Sounds like a wonderful space. He created those memories for you. A wonderful man.

Leave a Reply

