Amish Buffet

A day out with friends…
Picked up… and taken to a wonderful part of Indiana I had never seen…

We started with breakfast at a Cracker Barrel… and NO! … although hard… didn’t stop to look or shop…

It was about a two-hour drive to Montgomery, Indiana from Louisville

David has a wonderful memory of places he has visited… and they are numerous!…

Janice… his wife… loves to look for material to make beautiful quilts… and the area we were heading to… boasted of material in these Amish Shops…

Yes, we were heading to an area inhabited by Amish families…  k10419116 about 7000 people in all…

and they are nice enough to share their wonderful quilts, crafts, seasonal produce

k2483925  and handmade furniture…

We had a nice ride… chit-chatting about this and that… as we admired the pretty fields… and sites along the way… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Kitty I had to pet since she talked to me first!… when we stopped for a drink/bathroom break…

Our first stop was at an antique store… and we browsed and browsed and talked of the older items we remembered from our younger days…

We then headed to an Amish Variety Store… Janice hoping to find material… We found this store to be selling lots of name brand shoes and were trying to fit several Amish children k4857256 … but, polite enough to stop and ask us if we needed help finding anything…

There was material but, only the kind the Amish clothes were made of… for skirts, shirts, bonnets and pants…

Jars of homemade jams, jellies, pickles lined another shelf… k13334643

We left there and headed for the Gasthof Village… A pretty place sitting on a slight hill out in a field…

It was once a farm but, opened in 1988 as a restaurant … adding a Hotel in 1997… with various craft stores near by and a Flea Market that housed three buildings… 92 acres… and a 25 acre lake…

We checked out the Blue Door store first… I recognized quite a few items that my Mom used to own… but, has since “went by the way” as they say…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty flowers were everywhere…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Janice and David…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the Blue Door Porch…

We then checked out the Pig and Fiddle…

pfelogo

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Janice bought a book… about an Amish girl…

gasthof-village-inn

The Gasthof Inn is on this property…

Fotor0604105059

The Flea Market was packed with old glassware… antiques of all kinds… jellies/jams/pickles… and handmade dish towels , quilts etc…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Horse and buggy is the mode of transportation…

and they would hitch them outside while they shopped…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bobby and David waiting for restaurant to open…

Did I mention… it was Senior Day… and we ate for $7.99 for all we wanted to eat and drink…

The Restaurant was really big… with a Gift Shop… upstairs meeting rooms… a Bakery… Party rooms… and of course the Buffet which we had driven for two or more hours to partake of…

All food was homemade from Amish Recipes… 

Their was a fresh salad bar with homemade items…

Various meats… Chicken, ham, fish, meatloaf, roast beef…

Lots of vegetables…

Homemade bread… I could just eat that and butter!…

buffet%20pics%20035

Lemon Pie I had for dessert… just one piece… because I had to sample the Raisin Pie too!… it was wonderful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wood work is done by the local Amish men…

and was put together with huge lumber rafters and poles with wooden pegs…

We left “way too full”… and headed for one more stop!…

This was a quilt shop… but, later found this “Quilt Shop” had everything you could imagine in it!… Material… all sewing notions… groceries… lots of handmade quilts k4879280… linens… toys for kids… thrift store items… and so much more!…

We looked and looked…

We noticed an older gentleman sewing on a machine k4089544 when we walked in… He never bothered us… and we were all over the store with no one else around…

When we were leaving… he left his machine (showing his manners) and talked a little… I asked him, “How long had he been doing this type of work… quilting?”… He indicated a long time!… probably being in his late 80’s… He said, “Quilts were pieced on the sewing machine… and then Hand Quilted for strength”…

He thanked us for stopping by and was so pleasant just like all of these lovely people…

We had a great day that has left me with many things to think about!

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Amish Buffet

  1. You are so lucky to be able to have friends that you can take such lovely day trips to such wonderful places. Did you find any goodies to bring home?

  2. Glad you had a good time. We have some great Amish stores and markets up here. Some day you will have to go to Shipshewana if you have never been

      • I got asked to pay a child’s fare on a bus once, when I was 24 years – My mindset is 24 now and I love leading a younger life. I thought it was funny the bus driver thought I was under 16. He told me twice that I should be paying a child’s fare.

      • I know, I should have said that, but I was in shock. Pleasantly shocked, but shocked all the same. I like looking younger than I am. I purposefully have a younger mindset to stay young. Depending on what clothes I wear I can look much younger. One guy recently thought I was 12 years younger than I am. I was very happy with this, as I am younger now, than when I was younger, and enjoying living a very unconventional, quirky, young life. I believe age is a state of mind.

Leave a Reply

