Grape Jelly and Beer Chicken

I had seen this little contraption on TV… How you sit a baking chicken on a can of beer and bake it… or put on covered grill outside…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So… when I was in my favorite thrift store I spotted one… and it being only 50 cents… it was time to try it out!

I bought a whole baking chickenwashed it thoroughly inside and out… removing the “extras”…

After patting it dry I seasoned it with french fry seasoning and dehydrated onions

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had bought some canned beer… only having to use one… but, I’m sure we’ll drink the rest of it before summer ends…

You sit the chicken on the can of beer which has been placed in the holder

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

put a potato in the neck to hold the steam in… place in a baking pan with about 1/2 cup water… and bake for 350 degrees for two hours…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know this is so FUNKY looking… I had to laugh myself!

It came out looking golden brown… perfectly done… and tasted amazing… So tender with crispy crust…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Will definitely do again!… They say you can use soda also… and any variety of seasonings you like…

and NOit didn’t taste like beer at all… just moist and tender…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then…

Tonight I had so many grapes left after buying a bunch of seedless dark purple ones… that I thought I would try grape jam making…

k11717881

 

I have already done strawberry, blueberry and peach /pepper… (Which is all gone)… so… grape sounded good!… and the grapes would not be wasted!

Washed and put grapes in a pot with one cup of water… Simmered after smashing them for 5 minutes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Added pectin and sugarstirred until sugar was dissolvedOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Poured into clean jars I save… and now waiting to cool a little before putting on lids…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have found I can keep in freezer for months… and turns out really well…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I haven’t tasted yet… but,  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

it smells really good!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Grape Jelly and Beer Chicken

Leave a Reply

