Little Lady in Her Red Coat

 

I should be getting to bed… but, I believe my energy is better from being sick… so staying up a little later…

Work tomorrow… just 4 hours…

We have a new little lady…

I bent down to say hi and introduce myself when I worked Tuesday…

It was her first day…

I couldn’t really understand her very well…

She had been eating toast and butter k12490418  that she had brought from home… and drinking a cup of coffee…

Toast crumbs sprinkled her red coat k4987542 … which she insisted needed to remain on…

Most of our participants hate to part with their possessions…

Even to hang up their coat…

Some are cold natured and seems reasonable to me… when I touch their little hands that are so cold compared to my warm ones… k21672604

As I said I didn’t get much in conversation from her… just a nod of the head or a “yes”…”no”…

We had a few student visitors from a High School also this day…

They were Special Ed students… k0662770

like I worked with for 30 years… so we hit it off pretty good…

They will be coming to help us every other Tuesday…

Good for them as well as our Seniors…

I had brought a Christmas Crossword Puzzle  k11157501 to do with our participants…

I draw it on our large dry-erase board for all to see…

List the words… they are to find… and go over the words with their meanings… k22549865

They really like figuring out the answers… and I fill in the blanks…

I quiz them afterwards for memory…

k8800594

Keeping their minds as sharp as I can is a benefit to them and fun for me…

Much later in the afternoon… our little new lady… still snuggled in her red coat… had made her way in her wheelchair to the bathroom entrance

I asked if she needed help… and she nodded yesk5679196

As another worker and I helped her… we noticed she was dressed in several layers… 3 on the bottom and 2 plus her coat on her top…

I kidded her about hoping she was warm enough as we struggled a little pulling down and up all those layers…

She then giggled… making me smile… knowing she had gotten what I had said jokingly…

As I helped her wash her hands… she looks up into my face… and says, “Your presentation was very good earlier”…

I was taken back!… This quiet , unassuming little lady k20041432 was very articulate and evidently had a sharp mind…

I told her, “How sweet of you to say so!”… as I smiled widely… that she had appreciated and enjoyed my little puzzle and talk…

I will have to see if I can have more conversations with this little lady…

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Little Lady in Her Red Coat

  1. Marilyn, what a kind heart you have! I love reading about your work with this group. They are so blessed to have you there! Hope the little lady grows more comfortable as she gets to know you and everyone there! ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

