Day# 1 Christmas Baking Has Begun!

k5084230Three of my Christmas “goodies”... done!…

Many more to go!…

I know I have to get started on my baking, candy making… to get it in the mail!…

Every year I get a list together of a few new items to make… and some old reliables…

My relatives in Georgia are my guinea pigs… (Bobby’s three sisters and families…) trying out my recipes… a tradition I started many years ago…

Last night I mixed up my batter for Cherry Chewy Cookies”... a recipe I saved from “Can’t Stay Out Of the Kitchen”…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cream everything but, flour, cherries, pecans and coconut…

Fold in these ingredients next…

Place rolled balls onto baking sheets covered with parchment paper…

Bake 375 degrees for 12-13 minutes…

I added 1/2 of a candied cherry to top…

This recipe made 5-1/2 dozen cookies

INGREDIENTS:

1- cup brown sugar

3/4- cup butter

1- egg

2-tbsp. milk

1-tsp. vanilla

2- cups all-purpose flour

1/2- tsp. salt

1/2- tsp. baking soda

1- cup quartered candied cherries

1- cup chopped pecans

1- cup coconut

and then an old recipe I have made off and on for over 40 years“I can’t even believe that!”…

**************************************

“Candied Strawberries”...

My Dad brought home this recipe for me to make…

He wanted to give them as gifts…

He bought all of the ingredients…

I was married with two young boys… and loved doing for Christmas anyway!…

I made so many of these… I couldn’t look at a strawberry for a year I know!…

I found a copy of this recipe on Cooks.com…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix all ingredients in a big bowl… Best to refrigerate at least an hour or overnight…

Shape into strawberry shape… just play with it…not that hard and doesn’t have to be perfect…

I like placing them in small muffin tin papers…

Decorate a green leaf on top with canned green frosting…

can be frozen… until ready to serve… Keep refrigerated…

Just a few on a cookie tray adds some color…

I doubled batch to make 5-1/2 dozen…

INGREDIENTS

1-cup coconut

2- pkg. (3oz. size) Strawberry Dry Jello

3/4 – cup sweetened condensed milk

1- cup ground almonds…

1/2- tsp. vanilla

Roll in extra dry jello

********************************

My one other recipe I made today and will definitely make a few more batches... Easy and pretty!

“Christmas Fudge”... from… share-christmas.com/recipes/fudge…

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Boil sugar, butter, heavy cream (half/half) and salt for 5 minutes… stirring often…

remove from heat and stir about 5 minutes…

Add powdered sugar, vanilla and chopped red and green candied cherries… folding in…

Pour into 8″ X 8′ pan…

Cool and cut into small squares…

Store in air tight container

I’m hoping to get 25 pieces ( 2-dozen) + 1 … from this pan…

INGREDIENTS 

1-cup sugar

1/2- cup butter

1/2- cup heavy cream

1/8 tsp. salt

2- cups powdered sugar

1-tsp. vanilla

1/2- cup red candied cherries( chopped)

1/2- cup green candied cherries chopped

All of these are quite easy… very tasty… and will be fun to make!

 

 

 

One thought on “Day# 1 Christmas Baking Has Begun!

Leave a Reply

