Celery Soup and Sweet Potato Plant

I read this “Homemade” Celery Soup recipe from whattohavefordinnertonight’s Blog

and knowing that I like Celery Soup… even though a canned version…

I decided to use the celery I had cut up in the refrigerator… and make a semi-homemade version myself…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

http://whattohavefordinnertonight.com/2014/12/31/celery-soup

I removed all of the “strings” from the celery and cut up in small pieces… probably about two cups…

I chopped up 1/2 – sweet onion…

sauted in butter in my slow cooker… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

added 1 can of Chicken Broth I had in my pantry… 61b5FGsnGJL._SL1050_

and then let it cook about 1 hour… (I took a nap)…

When I got up…

Added two cans of Cream of Celery Soup… and 1/2 can of milk… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let simmer for an hour… added salt/pepper to taste… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  I like my Black Pepper!

It was delicious!…

*********************************

I had a sweet potato left from Thanksgiving dinner…

so I stuck 3 toothpicks around the sides (middle) … and placed in a glass of water… root side down…

The toothpicks keep the potato upright in glass and only wets 1/2 of the potato…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This allows roots to begin to form

You will see shoots of a stem and leaves begin to grow and it is ready to plant in about 1 month…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then removed potato from glass and placed in this pretty green pot OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I found at my favorite Thrift Store…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Put potting soil all around… removed toothpicks... and watered…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I will keep you updated on growth of this neat Sweet Potato Plant

It has such pretty heart-shaped pointed leaves… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just do things like this for fun!…

Something to watch… and keeps me thinking that “Spring is just around the corner!”…

 

 

8 thoughts on “Celery Soup and Sweet Potato Plant

  1. You are so creative. What do your Cats think of the Sweet Potato plant? My water came back on sometime around 5pm yesterday. I was watching TV and fell asleep in my recliner and woke up around 6pm to hear water running.

    Good thing I had only slept a little while. Because as I went into my back bedroom bathwater was all over the floor. I had left the water on in my stall shower and it had over flowed. Usually when I fall asleep like that I sleep like about 4 hours.

    So I did not have a lot to clean up.

Leave a Reply

