How Do You Help?

I’ve been quite the “Couch Potato” lately…k12169027

That is when I’m not working at my part-time job…

I DON”T like the very cold weather we have had lately…

I love it when it snows…

At least something beautiful to look at… k0187157

But, that has not been the case here in Kentucky…

We’ve also had so much sadness in our family… and yet more to come…

My daughter-in-law’s Dad is so sick with cancer…

it has been 6 months since the first signs... and now we are at the end…

You don’t know what to do…

Hosparus has been called in…

His wife has taken a leave from work…

Their daughter (my son’s wife) who is a registered nurse k12757653... is there at their home all she can be…

and both of them have great faith in her… Their only child…

The doldrums have set in our little family… u15723087

Things are changing…

Heartache seeps out in the tears we shed… cfr0017

Trying to be strong for Grandchildren…

Do you call???

Is it a bad time???

Do you go for a visit???

Maybe the Hosparus people will be there…

Do you send a bouquet of flowers???

Will that make them sadder…

I sit here and write… so that I might find some answers… k6828227

***************************************************

Next Day…

When I saved my draft for this post... I called Pam… glw0044

My daughter-in-law’s Mother…

She has been with Joe all of her life… Having married him right after High School…

I just had to hear from them…

She answered with her “Northern Pennsylvanian Voice”…

“Hello!”…

I was glad she was awake… and had time to talk…

I just told her the truth… k13194905

about not knowing when to call…

what to do…

how to help…

As we talked my questions were answered…

Just letting them know how we love them… k7216923

how we care…

how concerned we are…

how we are here if they need anything…

They had talked to all of the relatives… close friends…

a brother was flying in this weekend… k4013648

they had voiced their love for each other although not needed…

had visits from church..k3243824

had some special gifts bought for the Grandchildren…

and just being a voice away from each other completed the touches on this scene… many have endured…

I got off of the phone…

feeling settled…

accepting of my place in this situation…

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “How Do You Help?

  1. You did right in calling and saying how you feel. As it is hard to know what to say , but just talking and saying you love them and think of them is comforting!

  2. Such an awkward time for many. So glad you called. Caregivers need a break from the weary situation, offer a movie or lunch date if close by otherwise a regular call. Or offer to sit with the dying while the loved one goes out for a bit. All important.

    .

  3. Marilyn, I’m so sorry you’re having a sad time of life right now. I know at least some of what you feel. For decades (!) it seemed our family was so blessed and healthy, and we had no losses…but in recent years our group has grown smaller and smaller…just a wee number now. Of course it is inevitable, but it doesn’t take the sadness away. Blessings to you and your family as you face this hard time! ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

