“Grandma’s Patchwork of LOVE!”

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It starts with a sketch… basic ideas… words…

but, seldom ends up the way I first imagine it…

I’m talking of paintings I do on the wood benches my husband makes…

Just a little hobby for him and me… combining our talents…

When someone wants one… I find out their desires…

simple… colorful… sentimental… pictures or just words…

I then am usually given free rein on the idea itself…

and for this… I am grateful…

My hands seem to take on a mind of their own… 

creating the artwork as if I don’t actually have control…

I feel since God gave me my gift… He must be guiding me…

Usually I am quite pleased myself…

and the client is too!…

My niece wanted her bench to have burgundy… green and blue… for colors…

Her grandchildren’s names…

A country look…

So when I had in my mind a quilt of sorts... she said…“That sounds great!”…

and so it began…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Starts with a basic coat of paint color that client wants…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I use chalk to sketch with… because it wipes right off when finished painting…

I just need an idea of dimensions… measurements and placement of objects…

I decided to make the quilt pattern look like it was laying across the bench…

Quilt squares were started…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Placing the colors in somewhat of a pattern…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hearts were drawn and painted for added design…

with the thought the hearts could hold the names of the Grandkids…

I used the darker colors for the background with shades of those colors lightened for the hearts…

A cut out a paper heart for the bigger ones… traced on the bench…

and a sponge… cut into a smaller heart used like a stamp…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was beginning to look more like a quilt as I worked on it…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Names were added… Pretend stitches inserted around their hearts…

a small pair of scissors, a thimble and a needle and thread…

added to show the love worked into this quilt…

and finally the words chosen…

“Grandma’s Patchwork of LOVE!”…

************************************

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one was finished for a friend at work…

Word of mouth and people seeing them… usually gets us a few customers…

Enough to keep our bodies active and our minds busy…

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on ““Grandma’s Patchwork of LOVE!”

  1. That turned out so adorable. I would love to find an old bench or I saw on FB an old dresser where they cut off the legs and used it as a bench complete with some drawers. I really would like to find that!

Leave a Reply

