Galia…”God’s Wave”

As I was buying some fruit the other day… I bought this Cantaloupe… 

As you see it came in a mesh bag…

Which was unusual…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I cut it open the next day… I thought, “Oh, NO!… It’s not ripe!”

expecting to see that wonderful orange color k10972546of all of the cantaloupes I have eaten…

I looked at it carefully…

Skin seemed the same…

I smelled a slight cantaloupe scent…

but, it was a pale yellow/green in color…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I de-seeded it just like a cantaloupe…

 

but, as I looked at the bag… I noticed a check mark by the word Galia…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So… what was this “Galia” ?…

I found that it is a hybrid melon developed in Israel-1973… by melon breeder Dr. Zvi Karchi in Israel…

He named it after his daughter… Galia… meaning God’s Wave in Hebrew…

LOOKS… like a cantaloupe… OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA but, more like a honeydew in taste… 

with a faint cantaloupe taste…

Very sweet and juicy…

So… you might need to be more observant than I was…

or you might end up trying a NEW FRUIT!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

