New Blue Bibs!

Our Seniors at the YMCA where I work part-time… have breakfast, lunch and a snack daily…

As we get older we are little messier with our eating… due to the strength in our hands...and eyesight not being so good!...

We had some white “bibs” that …well… they were just wore out!…

k21431597

I’m not the best seamstress… but, knew I could make some new ones without too much trouble…

So… when I approached Jenifer with my idea of making some new ones out of towels…(absorbent)…

that it would be easy to cut a pattern from the old ones…

she agreed!…

She bought 10 big towels… colorful blue ones this time…

k11475144

My favorite color!…

I could get two from each towel… by folding them in half…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I laid one of the old bibs folded in half on the fold of the new towel material and cut a pattern…

allowing a little more room … They will be a little bit wider…

My new scissors I had bought after Christmas came in handy… sharpness was needed!…

After cutting out the 20 bibs…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then zig-zagged stitched k20056910 around all of the rough edges... to keep them from having ravelins...

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A little time-consuming… but, I would take a break every now and then…

Have you found an easy project in your head is more when you are actually doing it!…

k8525668

Not hard… just took longer than expected…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I will use “Liquid Stitch” to adhere the velcro tabs at the neck…

The BIG SNAPS I wanted to try to use were too costly for our budget…

and since Velcro had been used before with success... that’s what I chose to do!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

and when I return to work… my “senior friends” will get to try on their new coverings…

I wouldn’t doubt that a few who have never worn one will want to try them out!…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

