Another Kind of Easter Egg!

We used to write down the steps it took to do a task for our Special Ed Students…

This task would have many!…

and you don’t realize it when you’re just doing it!…

I was asked to bring Deviled Eggs and Fruit Salad for Easter Dinner at my son and his wife’s house…

I admit I cringed a little…

It’s not that I can’t make Deviled Eggs… My Mom taught me a long time ago how and what to put in them…

I know we all have our favorite recipes… but, this is how I was taught…

What bothers me?…

It’s the peeling of all those eggs…

I was fortunate this time…

in that they peeled fairly well…

What few had problems… just went into the filling…

“waste not, want not”!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you find the two eggs I failed to cut in half?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I removed the yellows…

I had boiled 18 eggs… Lost two… not too bad!…

Actually not lost… I fixed them to eat later… they don’t have to be “Pretty” for me!

I then chopped as fine as I could… with a whisk…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My Ingredients:

2- Big Tablespoons Mayonnaise

1- Big Tablespoon Yellow Mustard 

1- Big Tablespoon Sweet Pickle Relish

1- Teaspoon Chopped Dried Onion

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix together thoroughly!… Add salt/pepper to taste… If need… add a little more mayonnaise… 

Mixture will NOT be runny… fairly thick…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I place the mixture in a zip plastic bagcutting off the corner squeezing the mixture into the whites of the eggs…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA      OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Pretty Glass Egg Dish was a Thrift Store find for 69 cents…

Big enough to hold all of the eggs…

and will be a gift for Melanie to keep!…

Topped off with a little Paprika…

(another Mom thing)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and an addition of a few Spring Picks… 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope they all eaten… meaning they were good! 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My Fruit Salad contribution was an easy fix…

except for cutting the fresh pineapple…

A layer of mixed frozen fresh fruit of Strawberries, Blueberries, Blackberries, Raspberries…

A layer of frozen fresh Peaches sliced thin…

A layer of the Fresh Pineapple cut in small pieces…

I did add a little sugar between layers and will let sit until serving…

Then will toss all of the fruit together!…

I told you I like simple!

Happy Blessed Easter to all of my friends/relatives!

k1859086

6 thoughts on “Another Kind of Easter Egg!

  1. Looks delicious! We just returned from a vacation so we are eating out…an Easter Brunch with family, but my oh my…those eggs would be good! I wonder if the restaurant will have some today. Hope so! Happy Easter.

  2. I’ve never been into Deviled eggs. I hated the yolks and whatever seasons my mom or other family members would put into them. My cousin Chris can eat like two whole plate full of them and the only way I can eat them is if my mom takes the insides out. Sounds a bit disgusting right there, but it’s the truth! Lol

Leave a Reply

