The Book From India…

Show me a Beautiful Book and especially one with empty pages… and my heart actually starts beating quicker…

I look at it!…

I touch it!…

I feel it!…

I even smell it!…

I held this wonderful Handmade ScrapBook in my hands and knew I would have to purchase it…

The cover with this wonderful Elephant but, in this case I want to call it a Pachyderm!…

It just means “thick-skinned”… but, doesn’t it sound more elegant?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The colors are a dark green printed border…

a dark red background…

The gray painted elephant is so elegant in his dress… complete with Headdress…

It is touched with gold… this wonderful cloth material covering this book…

The cover is stitched with a yellow thread running here and there… making a whimsical design… inside and out…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The 35 pages of handmade paper are sewn together with a strong thread tied in the center of the book… The pages are thick and inviting…

Splatters of flowers?… leaves?… grasses?… are part of the wonderful paper pages…

12-1/2″ long X 8-1/2″ high…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wonder at the process of making this book…

What person put such love into it…

I do know it was made in India…

Not knowing the circumstances makes me feel a little sad…

I hear of people… even children made to do these works of art under horrendous circumstances sometimes…

I hope this was not the case!

I bought this at my Thrift Store for $1.49 …

I feel like I have cheated this talented person …

but, will care for it as if I knew them personally…

What will I place in this special book?…

I touch it several times moreWe will see!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Book From India…

Leave a Reply

