Do I Seem a Little Quieter…

      It’s been quite a week in my little world…

You’ve probably read of the flood waters in our area… k0322722

we had some clean-up to do!…

Our shed is muddy and some of our plastic totes that held seasonal items were afloat and spilt…

The lawnmower was submerged… and some other items…

But, we can get through these minor losses…

*********************************

Son, who is bi-polar still waiting on meds to be prescribed… due to back-log in seeing patients… k11482996

I could go on and on!

********************************

My husband has not felt up to par…

We use “age” as a “definer” of our health issues… and it is… but, actually it is the type of work and activities we did when we were young…

Him… being a mechanic… on heavy equipment… k11329965

stooped over… crawling under vehicles… bent in awkward positions… on feet a lot… lifting heavy items…

You see the picture…

But, we will adjust to doing things differently…

*********************************

This past two weeks there have been three deaths in my little world…

The first was a young man that lived down the street… k3409013k23788045

No, I didn’t really know him…

I knew his house… way down the street… and that he was married and had a little boy…

because the child would sometimes wander down our way wanting to play… and Mom or Dad would come down to get him…

Evidently… he, the Dad… was having some severe emotional problems… dealing with depressiondomestic issues between him and his wife…etc. …

Live so close but, do not know what is happening in everyone’s life…

He decides to bring out a gun… and fired off some shots…

which in a family neighborhood… is definitely not the place!…

Police was called!…

His mind was very confused… with thoughts racing evidently… when the police arrived…

Not, wanting to go with them… and in his state of feeling no way out… he waved his gun at the police who had to chase him… and then they were confronted by himthey shot

He was pronounced dead at the scene from what I hear…

but, not from the police bullets… but, from his own self-inflicted gun shotsuicide!…

Gone in an instant…

I question… our world in this case…

Why is it we feel so helpless…

so desperate…

so not worthy…

that we would take our own life… and leave those that wanted to help…

that loved him…

that just didn’t have the right words to change the direction of this situation?

**********************************

You know I work at the YMCA Adult Care Program…

Our Seniors… which, some are younger than me… have many health issues… both mental and physical…

I met Terry over a year ago….

A handsome man… married to a lovely wife… had children and grandchildren…

A kind, sweet person… always complimentary… and grateful for us, the workers that helped with any needs encountered…

but, this wonderful guy… had MS and also Alzheimer’s… k25404758

Contracted in his later years…

and within a year of me knowing him… I saw him deteriorate to not knowing what, where, when or how he was in his life…

He had lost so much… until we could no longer meet his needs…

He wasn’t able to stay home any longer either… needing constant watch…

It wasn’t but, a few months until he passed away…

and left us with a little hole in our hearts that knew him…

**********************************************

Debbie was also a participantA girl in a woman’s body… A big girl in build… could be a little intimidating if she had wanted to…

but, she loved her stuffed animals… her jewelery… her baby dolls that she treated as her children…

She always greeted everyone… and she was liked by all…

She had her peculiar ways… that just made her Debbie…

Liked to color in her books and craved attention…

I heard “I love you Marilyn”… a hundred times…”You are so sweet”… almost every day I worked…

She had physical problems with her legs… indigestion a lot… and would rather sit in our recliners than participate at times…

The other day… she evidently didn’t feel well… and had went to the bathroom…

Having been gone longer than usual… she was checked on… and found to be unresponsive on the bathroom floor…

911 was called… CPR started… and was transported to the hospital… She had not regained consciousness… when she left from the YMCA…

and when the ambulance reached the hospital… she was pronounced dead from a massive heart attack… k26164593

Devastated… we were in awe… as I heard the news when I arrived a few hours later for my shift…

so, if I seem a little distant… a little quieter… a little out of sorts…

this is why… k15738866

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Do I Seem a Little Quieter…

  1. What a week you have had. I am sorry for all the loss you have endured. We wonder why people take their lives. I was so shocked when Robin Williams took his. I realized then that we never know the inner thoughts of each other. We tend to keep some hard to deal with things to ourselves. Our minds become fogged and sometimes there seems no other way out. I hate it when people feel that way. There are always options in life but some see it as too hard to deal with. I pray you have a better weekend and week ahead Marilyn

  2. Hi Marilyn,
    Wow, what a week you’ve had! Life certainly has its ups and downs. Just hang in there and know you’re in my thoughts and prayers. I’m sending big (((HUGS))) to you! Here’s to better times ahead…. Love you, Andrea

  3. I worked at nursing homes for a number of years. The hardest thing was to show up and one of the nurses would casually mention oh so and so died last night. There was never any space for the feelings of the part time workers. We were to just go as usual.
    Sorry there has been so much death in your life. Just sorry

  4. Hi Marilyn, So sorry about the past week you had. I worked with seniors, and yes, very staggering when one became terribly ill or left this earth. It was near 2000 when I worked at the center, and it is quite sad for me to think back on it and realize that most likely, all those fine ladies and gents are most likely passed on now. I hope this week is filled with sunshine for you and yours. Blessings my friend.

Leave a Reply

