In God’s Hands

I don’t know that my mind has really grasped what is happening in our lives… cfr0043

Married for 46 years…

we have had our share of ups/downs…

Jobs… health issues… son with bi-polar… family situations…

but…

we are good! k24561264

I think my Bobby and I have learned to take things pretty much in stride…

Yes… we have feelings that surface… k0969530

But, knowing we both have our Faith… and facing reality head on

makes our days better…

1794054k2058854

We don’t like what is happening…

we would like it to be different…

but, as I have always said, “We are not immune to life’s circumstances… some good…. some bad!”

We have always known that we have a special love…

A bond that holds us together with a touch…

a kiss on the cheek… k3759869

a hug as we pass…

a kind word

an “I love you”… at unexpected times… u17245841

I hate the word…”cancer”…

k6437378

Never wanted it to be in my little family…

but, it has reared it’s head recently …

Our follow-up visit to primary care doctor… was good…

A thorough check-up… vitals taken… and a look of incision… and listening to his heart…

Blood work drawn for labs… to check his levels…

and the doctor read and read over the reports concerning him on the computer…

k11835526

I listened as I heard “STAGE 3″…

That didn’t sound too good…

Explained as well as she could what that meant…

Chemo needed… to address cancer slightly in lymph nodesnear where tumor was removed…

I read and reread what that meant…

Not good… not bad…

Criteria ranging from 5-10 years… in life expectancy…

That shakes me to my core…

because we keep hearing “5”…

What to do…

Getting him healthy as he can get right now…

where the Chemo will not drain him…

but, afterwards… “GOD WILLING”…

we will live our remaining years as best we can…

Will we make changes? … k22125429

Some maybe… but, probably just live our lives as before… with a little more presence of making each day count for something!…

I leave my hopes…

my thoughts… k2742205

my dreams…

in the Hands of God! k12818777

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “In God’s Hands

  1. Dear Marilyn & Bobby,

    When my father learned that he had Cancer and they gave him 4 years to live. He came up with some great words of wisdom which I will pass along. First, Don’t let the “Big C’ define who you are and secondly, remember to live life one day at a time! He lived and died by those words and through it all he never lost his sense of humor. May God Bless you both always…………. Love, Andrea

  2. Sometimes an illness, a diagnoses makes us stop and evaluate and determine to live each day as it is given to us by God. You are exactly right that God is in control, He holds our days in His hands and He offers an abundant life – today! Prayers going for you and Bobby.

  3. If you can see yourself putting your hand in God’s hand as you go forward?
    My life has been pretty challenging and yet when I look back I feel that God has been there holding me. It didn’t stop bad things from happening but when I think about the people who helped me through that is where I feel God was working.
    I hope you will have that sense that God is in there with you and Bobby and holding you as you go forward.

  4. I don’t often talk about my faith (and I have to hope my relationship with God thrives on neglect) but I wanted to say something that you might find helpful.
    You are both doing so well but I also think we are allowed to get angry with God too when we are struggling or hurting because he knows what is in our hearts and loves us unconditionally.
    Take care and love to you both x

Leave a Reply

